Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
36
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2014
This is a nice little book with a good range of projects. Also, although it isn't cheap, if you compare it to books with a fraction of the number of designs, it isn't bad value as long as you like enough of the projects.

There are only two real issues as far as I'm concerned, which dropped it down from five stars.

Firstly, "one skein" is based on a skein of 100g of yarn. Frequently skeins and balls of yarn are only 50g, so it's a little disappointing to realise that the pattern you thought would work so beautifully with a given yarn actually requires more than you have. Be forewarned, and don't expect to find something to use up every little ball in your stash. Some of them are adaptable, and there are lots of ideas. In general the suggested yarns are often a little pricey, but I haven't had too many problems with finding alternates. It isn't a big problem, but I feel like the undertone of "hey, you can use up all your leftover skeins" is a bit misleading.

The second disappointment is very much a your mileage may vary one, and that is how many of the projects are for babies or dolls. That's great if you have small children or children who play with dolls a lot, but if you don't, that writes off a lot of the projects from the get go.

Overall, though, there are some really nice ideas in here. My favourites are probably the amigurumi, which are well explained and really cute. I also like several of the scarf designs, and there's really quite a lot of variation in them. Everything from Tunisian to really simple stitch patterns, and a chunky cowl to light and pretty scarves that would even be suitable for a winter bride. IMO the lovely collection of scarves/cowls are probably the strong point of the book.

All the patterns are given in US terms, unsurprisingly since it's an American publishing house, but the stitches are the same even when the names are different, and it's not hard to find a conversion chart. I'm still not a very advanced crocheter, but I've found once you understand the relation between the two systems, it's no problem at all to switch between them. Don't let it alarm you or you put off from an otherwise pretty good and varied collection of patterns.

If in doubt whether there's enough here to pique your interest, the book is listed on Ravelry with each pattern described. Overall, it's pretty good, though I'm glad I got it at a knock down price, and I'd definitely take a look at any more crochet specific one skein wonder books.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
This is a great book, so much better than I had expected!

There are a lot of really nice patterns in here, the cover and even the "Look Inside" do not do it justice! There are some lovely glove/ wrist wamer patterens and some fantastic toy patterns, the two rabbit/ bunny patterns and the dog and great.

I can't wait to try them, my biggest problem will be deciding which to do first!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
really good book, a great variety of projects, the only reason i did not give it five stars was that it is in american crochet terminology, saying that i still recommend it, it is just a little confusing, a mention in the write up would be nice. there are a lot of projects that i will make so still a good buy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
This book is full of really attractive and useful items that use one skein or less of yarn. It is American, so uses slightly different crochet terminology to British. Don't let that put you off though if you can already crochet the British way as it's not vastly different. Although the projects are small and uncomplicated it's not the best book for a complete beginner as it doesn't include explicit stitch diagrams as some books do, but the patterns are very manageable once you have had some basic experience. A great value book (101 patterns works out at under 10 pence per pattern), but the best thing is just about all the patterns are ones you would actually like to make and not just to pad the book out to fit the title!
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
What excellent value for money this book is with so many great projects! Plenty for those with less experience along with a good selection for those looking for something a little more adventurous. I have flicked through it and already bookmarked nearly three quarters of the patterns and it's very rare for me to find so many things I want to make all in one book!

A couple of pointers:

The book uses US terminology so if you are used to working with UK terms you will need a quick reference guide to translate the stitches but it's very easy to pick up as it's more about the name of the stitch than how you make it.

As has already been pointed out; 'One-Skein' is a slight misnomer as the recommended yarns come in varying sizes. One skein can be anything from 25g to 250g or more in weight. You should however only need to buy one skein of the recommended yarn for each project.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
We’ve waited a long time for a crochet book like this. I love the way the projects are organised by yarn weight - it makes using up the considerable stash seem less like a dream and more like a possibility (!) Many of the patterns could be made using a different yarn than the one specified - if you don't mind adjustments to scale. What's more the patterns are, for the most part unusual and a bit different. You will not be disappointed with this purchase.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
I wanted something that was full of quick easy projects to make. This collection of patterns is good for gift making.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
As a very experienced crocheter I first purchased this on Kindle and was delighted with it. Suitable for both experienced and learners, the patterns are well explained and it is extremely helpful to have symbols as well as written instructions. I learned two new stitches from the book (which surprised me) so well done to the authors. I then decided to purchase it in hard copy as well so that I could keep it for reference for years to come as it is easy reading and quite inspirational. I had never purchased a book both on Kindle and hard copy prior to this. Thank you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
While not all the ideas are quite what I'd make, there are plenty of great patterns which are quick and easy to make even with only basic crochet skills. I do get bored counting for patterns and end up using them for a basic idea then making it up as I go along - and this book has plenty of inspiration in it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
Masses of super ideas and grouped according to the weight of the yarn, makes searching quicker and easier if you are looking for something for a left over ball......there are even some ideas for a few metres.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)