Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 11 July 2013
I pre-ordered this book having read all of the previous. When it finally turned up I was excited in the same way as a kid with a new Harry Potter.

The plot kind of wombles through some very weak sub-plots where lots of things are unanswered or there is no explanation for. At the end there is a scene where the bad guy arrives from no-where with a weapon that is just ridiculous in context. Then during Jason Bourne's closing in on the final showdown he runs through the forest, across a plain, engages in and wins a fight against multiple opponents and steals their vehicle.

Next paragraph he's fumbling for something in his backpack. Hang on. He dumped that before the forest and there's nothing to say he went back for it so where did the magic backpack come from?

And it's this kind of inconsistency that really ruins this book I'm afraid.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2013
Enjoyed good read not sure how many more books in this series could be written. Also not sure how much input Robert Ludlum had but it was still a very good read
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2017
A typical good read as the plot progresses and you try to figure out what the inevitable twist and missing piece of the puzzle are. The Bourne books are becoming very predictable however and seem as though it is a different scenario but with the same plot. It confuses me as to why his children are never mentioned, a man with such honour would surely not totally abandon them. And of course one of them is Khan who is as deadly as he is
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 June 2012
"One man of you shall chase a thousand, for the LORD your God is He who fights for you, as He promised you." -- Joshua 23:10 (NKJV)

The title of this story could easily be: Echoes of Jason Bourne's Life. Mr. Lustbader selected some of the major characteristics of Jason Bourne's past to build a plot around. Although the concept is somewhat interesting, it tended to focus my reading on other stories, rather than on this one. Ultimately, I thought it was overdone.

What I did like about the book were the scenes where people were fighting for their lives in close combat. These were well done and very exciting. I think you will enjoy them. Without those scenes, I would have rated this book as a three-star effort.

The plot also has some pretty credibility-stretching elements. I won't mention what they are lest I spoil the story for you.

If you are a dyed-in-the-wool Bourne fan, you'll probably enjoy the book . . . but it will be far from your favorite.

Take this one to the beach.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2016
Really? This book is nonsense from start to finish and full of mistakes e.g. Treadstone is accidentally referred to as "Touchstone" at one point. The Amoral bad guy characters are beyond belief with their high-rolling lifestyles and cliched evil ambitions. The Treadstone "Directors" characters are written to sound like like sixth-formers. Bourne ends up in no less than three underwater scrapes where others die horribly. The book flits from one villain to the next traversing the globe in private jets one of which is eventually destroyed by a remote control box held by the pilot to give the impression his boss has been killed...... THAT kind of nonsense.

Total garbage
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2015
I have always enjoyed the Bourne series and have read all but the latest one. However, the Imperative was not as good as usual. Start of story was fine and the last couple of chapters were good reading, keeping you guessing. BUT the mid section of the book meandered from character to character and you were left wondering where the story was going. So for me only 3 stars compared to the usual 5 stars for these books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2016
Another first-class thriller in this excellent series. Jason Bourne needs no implausible 007 style gadgetry to cut thru plots more convoluted than the gordion knot. The action is thick and fast, the body count rises and there is always a sting in the tail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2014
#10 in the Jason Bourne series. As other reviewers have pointed out, Jason must have been collecting his old-age pension for over a decade now.

Quibbles p.111 "Aguadiente Bancorp was now one of the three largest banks outside the United States."

Not as hard as it sounds. Only one American bank scrapes into the top ten.

P.150 "one pair of cobbler's awls, you 'ave." Cobbler's awls,Balls,Bogdan said unexpectedly."

The phrase cobbler's awls is never used. The use of cobblers or a load of cobblers has entered widely into English but Cockney rhyming slang omits the last part of a phrase e,g barnet (Barnet Fair), hair.

I doubt if one in a million Brits would be aware of cbblers full derivation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2017
Good gripping plot. With twists and turns with every page turn.a true Bourne book worth reading.give it a try you should not be disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2017
Excellent as always. I couldn't put it down I can't wait to read the next book, hope it's as good as this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse