Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
17
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
At the price it is a steal.
For those who are familiar with Vonnegut's major novels (Slaughterhouse 5, Player Piano, Cat's Cradle, Breakfast of Champions, et al) this is a delight.
For those unfamiliar it is a great introduction to the mind of Kurt Vonnegut.
Although pidgeonholed as a Science Fiction writer, Vonnegut transcends boundaries.
His imagination may sometimes take us to the stars but he is equally adept in the darker recesses of the mind, as the opening tale of obsession shows. Time to Vonnegut is not linear, but a pool to be dipped in and out of in search of the story behind his characters and his humour always restores my joy in reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 August 2013
As these have been published for the first time, one could reasonably assume them to be much rougher diamonds than the work the author sought to polish to publication perfection; however one cannot speak of a low quality Vonnegut here at all. This - a collection of six fiction short stories, the author's non-fiction 'anthropology' essay and an unfinished science fiction story - gives you all the author's wit and powers observation in a more bite sized format.

I personally did not find the title piece the strongest, that title in my opinion going to the non-fiction essay, where he reflects on the profession he studied for but did not enter into - anthropology.

In the end, if you are a fan of the author, I can only recommend the book. It has the qualities of his other works (even if one certainly cannot call it one of his best), and is probably the last of his works to be made available. If Vonnegut is not your thing, the book is unlikely to change your mind, either. In spite of the bite sized format, I would still probably recommend one of his other books for a first taste of the author for those completely new to him.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
Some stories were amazing and some were just below expectations. I enjoyed the twist and surprise angle to some of the stories.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
If you're a fan of Vonnegut you will find much to like but newcomers may be put off reading his masterpiece Slaughterhouse 5. Start there..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
Thes are not all the best Kurt Vonnegut, but in even the worst of them, the quality shines through. What a pity that the SF story is unfinished as what is in here is intriguing and an excellent basis for a novel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
having read a number of K.Vonnegut's novels I decided to take these on holiday. Not disappointed only trouble they're a bit too short. Good endings though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
If you have learned to love Mr Vonnegut, this certainly won't disappoint. Full of the usual acerbic wit and open heart that characterises his writing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
I am not a great fan of short stories, but never-the-less I enjoyed reading this collection. The twists in the endings were neat and often unexpected.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
Thoughtful, wise and funny, Vonnegut couldn't help being otherwise, but not in the first rank of his writings. Better than just about any other writer of his generation, nonetheless. Something for the fans rather than to win over converts.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse