Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 4 November 2017
A fascinating story of two girls living in a poor community within Naples. Their friendship is the core of the book and the descriptions of their relationship, friends, families and community draw you in so that you can't wait to read the next book in the quartet.Beautifully written and translated, providing an insight into the narrow,constrained and controlled lives of most of the inhabitants . I
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
I did enjoy this series of books. Having visited the location where they are set, I could visualise the story as it progressed. The characters were very real and once the tale had begun, I had to continue to the very end to see how it concluded.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Really enjoyed this novel, so much so I have now ordered the next 3 to complete the story. Could not put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
loved listening to this slice of Italian life. already bought the sequel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2017
Hmmm. i tried very hard. much is excellent but i struggled ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2017
A great insight into the trials and tribulations of growing up in a small town. Although set in 1950s Italy, it could be anywhere and anytime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2017
I like the way Ferrante delves into her characters' innermost thoughts, but the plotting is occasionally clumsy. What comes through strongly is the essence of the rough, working-class Neapolitan society which she clearly knows very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Bought this book on the recommendation of several friends and couldn't put it down. I was immersed in the story from the start; beautifully written and great characterisation. Immediately ordered the other three novels in the series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Like it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse