Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 9 June 2015
Skilfully-written murder-mystery with strong romantic subplot (m/m). Polished writing, flowing easily, well-paced both as audiobook and in text. Listened to audiobook alongside using whispersync/.voiceready and at first was disappointed with the quality of the narration. For the first couple of chapters the narrator went so fast he gabbled, making it hard to understand. At other times the emphasis in the sentence was wrong for its sense, so that as a listener I was misdirected. But suddenly the quality underwent a complete shift and by chapter 6 the narration was relaxed and clear. I liked the characterisation of the voices. I have read Josh Lanyon's series featuring firstly Adrien English ("Adrien and Jake") and secondly Christopher Holmes ("Kit and JX") and was very impressed - witty, flowing prose and real characters with interesting lives. I am now reading the backlist! This is a standalone as far as I know, and comes to a satisfying conclusion. For those concerned about sex scenes, there is one episode which is very explicit but is integral to the characters' relationship and I felt it was not out of place in the story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2011
I love all Josh Lanyon's work. I adore Adrien English (Adrien English Mysteries) and all his sleuthing. I love Kit (Holmes & Moriarity) and his reluctant sleuthing. And Swift? (Come Unto These Yellow Sands) well he just doesn't really know how to investigate a crime to save his life. I can do this fine, I will do it if I'm pushed into it, I haven't a clue and I'm getting into deep water, yikes. Three types of character solving good old mysteries.
Josh Lanyon's talent is not only in telling the tale, throwing Red Herrings in here there and everywhere to lead the reader to the wrong conclusions.....it's also in the way he builds the relationships between his characters. Love nearly always grows slowly. There isn't the usual whambam sex with little substance, relationship, plot or otherwise that is often found in male/male pairings. This like Agetha Christie with a same sex pairing.
If you want a thriller that can have your heart racing, then read Josh's work. If you want to read gratuitous m/m sex then find yourself a porn site.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2012
I'm feeling a bit guilty about only giving 3 stars - even an off-form Lanyon novel is better than much of the m/m romance/mystery work out there - but it has to be said that this didn't impress me much.
On the positive side, Swift was a very interesting character and I did care about him as he seemed to be losing control of his life through no fault of his own.
On the negative side, the story is told entirely from Swift's POV and that left Max out in the cold for me. He seemed a total blank character with no information available to understand him or why he did the things he did.
On the really negative side, the "mystery" thread of the story was pretty lame and unexciting.
I'm a little surprised at all the 5 star reviews, but then I suppose it depends on what else you've been reading lately to compare it to... I think I'll be taking a break from Mr Lanyon's work for awhile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2012
This was another very good read by JL, but the story ended abruptly, I thought with very little emotional satisfaction. It is possible that this is because I am female, and we like to explore our emotions (sometimes to death!), but I am finding JL' s books lacking in terms of giving me that satisfaction that all will remain well with the main characters. His stories always seem to end when the characters find a way to resolve their differences. To me, that's a beginning, and not an ending...

Nevertheless, this was a fab short book, and I am happy to recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2012
I am a Josh Lanyon fan and this is one of the best. Its secret is the combination of whodunnit with the tension between the two lovers (university lecturer Swift and his police chief lover, Max)caught up in the drama. The polarisaiton of conflict and attraction is powerfully done, as is the portrayal of Swift's own demons as he wrestles with his addiction. Swift and Max are unlikely lovers, but entirely credible and the evolution of their relationship the beating heart of this wonderful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2013
There is not much to add to all the other reviews. I have only given this 4 stars because I like to be able to picture the characters in my mind and while there are several descriptions of Max's physical appearance, I found it impossible to form a picture of Swift. Otherwise an excellent story, very well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2016
am a fan of Josh Lanyon books and this has not disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2013
This is wonderfully suspenseful. Both the crime elements and the ups and downs of the romance between Swift and Max kept me turning the pages. The characters are believable and I didn't see the ending coming at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2017
Loved Max and Swift - very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2014
Josh Lanyon is an esteemed author of this genre of fiction. This is a very good example, provided that you like the gay/murder combination. His plots are good and his characterization even better, but I personally find it hard to get thrilled by this style of fiction. I think that gay-romance and murder mysteries should be kept separate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here