Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
74
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2011
On opening the first page of this, unfortunately, very short book, i was a little dissapointed the first page wasn't even a pop up at all, however it did have a couple of posters and a small 'howler' pop up as substitute. As i continued onto the second page i found the book did get better, Diagon Alley does look good in pop up but it could have been a bit more awesome and spectacular, as it is a simple v fold pop up and nothing more. Highlights of the book include the pop up of Hogwarts which is very very good and the forbidden forest and hagrids hut pop up which is equally as brilliant. As a bonus there is smaller pop ups that are even more complex than the big ones on the pages. The pages also come with short paragraphs on how certain aspects of the movies were made, they are far too brief and really are not that interesting, perhaps if the information were to be more interesting and detailed this book would achieve a five star rating.
Overall, the book is very pleasing and i was happy with the purchase, but it could have been a lot better and i think if this had been in the hands of better paper engineers it would have been a five star product.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2011
I bought this book for my Harry Potter mad 8 year old. Her face when she opened the book and explored it was as magical as the films.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2011
Bought this for my 5 year old, after he had fallen in love with it in a bookshop. For a child who is a little prone to breaking stuff with his excitable, but less than careful, handling, it may seem an odd choice, but it is his prize possession, and he treats it with real love and care.
There are 5 or 6 big pop ups, and then smaller pop ups / extras on each page.
Loads of little details that he loves.
Has lasted so far for about 1 month with no damage, and think it will go on much longer.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2011
I ordered this book for a friend's birthday with a tiny bit of skepticism, just wondering what it would look like in real life, hoping that it would be good, you never know with a book like this because it's not a very famous book really. When it arrived I was so pleasantly surprised, the amount of detail included is amazing, not only is it such good quality, but the fact that they include the back of the pop ups as well as the front is fantastic, adding an extra amount of quality and professionalism. Also, the big pop ups are brilliant but the smaller ones included on the pages are just amazing, particularly the Hedwig cage and Ron playing Quiddich! I ordered one for myself immediately and I'm about to order another for one another friend, Just brilliant, a happy surprise!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2011
i love this book. As a huge Harry Potter fan i ordered this book to add to the rest of my collection. it arrived really quickly and before the date given which i am really grateful for. it arrived in perfect condition. the book is packed with lots of info. i love it as an adult Harry Potter fan and my young children love the book as well at the age of 5 and 8. a great buy for adding to Harry Potter collection. Five stars.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2011
This book is just so incredibly beautiful! It's crazy that such a "little" book can store so much! There is so much to look at that I still love looking at it even after half a year. This is the perfect gift for all Harry Potter fans of all ages! I myself am 18 years old and I'm about to buy it for a 7 year old boy
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2012
A great item, I really like it and the effects are very very good, a pity there's not more but for the price it represents excellent value, probably more suited to a collector of memorabilia than a child.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2012
The technical expertise of this has to be admired. Anyone who critises it does not have enough appreciation of what the production of such a book for the price involves.
The printing is excellent. Pop-up books need to be treated with respect and care. They often may need 'teasing out' in places on opening and closing and younger children may find their book lasts longer with an adult assisting them with this. I found Hagrid's cottage required lifting slightly with the tip of my little finger inserted under the flap 'inside' the cottage, then it lifted into place perfectly.
I am amazed with the great number of references they have managed to include, and the fact many of the 'additions'and inclusions are affixed to the book is a bonus, as so often smaller inclusions can become lost over the years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
Pictures are brilliant! With a 360 degree view of Hogwarts as well as pop up magical creature popping out on every page is just what any potter head needs.
Plus includes lovely little details such as the howler and a harry most wanted poster.
Do need to be very delicate with it though pages can break easily.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
This was a birthday gift for my 7 year old granddaughter. Wow! It's a lovely pop up book & I wouldn't mind one for myself. She had great fun finding all the little "secrets". Don't hesitate, just buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse