Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2015
I sent this book as a gift and the feedback from the recipient, who has yet to undergo proper therapy, has been outstanding. Prior to ordering, I carefully reviewed each PTSD workbook listed as I myself have PTSD and felt as though this particular workbook encompassed logical methodologies and broke down the healing process in a realistic manner. I am definitely very pleased with this purchase and truly hope that others find it beneficial as well. :-)
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Easy read & follow with exercises throughout the book that could be copy if don't want to write in book. I personal have use pencil to fill in and using as journal style book & taking it to talking therapy to help explore issues.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
VERY informative. Easy to use. Easy to read and apply
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
Although American and not exactly brilliant at information, giving this book really can have recovery from such a difficult mental illness. PTSD is really difficult to deal with and it's good to have such practical strategies to help with the different symptoms. The exercises combined with help from a qualified therapist is a useful way forward in some cases.
I would however strongly recommend working with a therapist at the same time as I can imagine using this book alone could be somewhat daunting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
This book is a usful tool to help suffer to understand this illness. A great teaching tool as well to be use within a counselling setting
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2008
This is a really helpful book for those treating a person who has PTSD, families/friends of those with PTSD, and the sufferers themselves.
It is written in very clear concise language, and has information on the diagnosis of PTSD, as well as the treatment methods available, some techniques which could be used for self help (though probably most useful if used alongside some sort of `talking therapy`).
I would recommend anyone who deals with PTSD in any capacity to invest in this book.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
Some fantastic ideas to work on within an easy to read text for both the therapist and the client.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
As a clinical psychologist, specialising in working with people diagnosed with PTSD, I would not recommend this text for clients for self-help. The book does not seem to be draw on evidence based techniques but rather throws together a selection of (often contradictory) ideas from a range of sources, many of which do not appear to be credible references. There are some useful ideas in the book but I feel that these are diluted by less helpful ones, which at worst I would be concerned could actually make clients feel worse. I would recommend that clients (and therapists) turn instead to PTSD books grounded in a cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT), acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) or mindfulness based approaches as these have a good evience base for being effective with this distressing difficulty.
33 Comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
Highly recommended workbook recommended by psychologist & can't sing it's praises highly enough. Is written for the layman & is a welcome hand leading you out of the fog
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
Does what it says on the can - a very useful workbook and a good resource - even better than the previous edition - I have used this regularly over the last five years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)