Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
24
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2017
Good story, starts slower and more subtly than I was expecting. Will probably now have to buy the next in the series just to find out what happens next...
Interesting take on a dystopian future where big companies and conglomerates rule.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Greg Rucka has exceeded all expectations with this new series. Volume 1 has masterful world building, and a very unique character in the form of a genetically modified human named Forever Carlyle. The near future dystopia is not cliché as most dystopian fictions are, and the structure of the world's political sphere is based on family control over different areas. Would really recommend picking this graphic novel up, and the four page 'preview' at the back of the book that wasn't shown in any of the floppies/single issues is really great and delves deeper into the dynamic between Forever and her father.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
A gripping, fantastically-drawn story by 2 comic legends. The near future: power and wealth are now concentrated not in the hands of governments or corporations, but cartel-like Families, who own their own compounds and territories. And like the present-day cartels and governments, each is trying to gain the upper hand over the other...
This is where their Lazarus comes in, each Family having created a semi-artificial being who is part superspy, part Terminator-like killing machine.
But what happens to a killing machine that starts to have...doubts? Read it and find out. 10 stars, never mind 5.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
Wicked! This starts off no holds barred violent with us learning our main character is not somehow quite exactly human. Through this violence and her, Eva, the futuristic world is unveiled. One ruled by families, with small numbers of blood members. These then work similar to medieval fiefdoms with trained Serfs serving the family and then an overload of expendable population called Waste. Right away we see Eva's problem with the majority of her family members is that she seems to be having a conscience, this is not allowed in her position and her doctor is doing what he can for her. This was all great hard-edged stuff, very violent, political, guerrilla warfare like. But when the family got together in their mansion the huddled tete-a-tetes in corners, the secret meetings, the explosive family gatherings and wild relationships between family members and servants was pure soap opera, making me think of "Dynasty in Space". Sounds corny when I write it like that but I looooved the dynamics of it all. By the end of the book we've already got one family member booted out and on the run for his/her life. Can't wait for this to continue!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
Post apocalyptic, dystopian game of thrones about rich people double crossing each other and the likable pawns in their power struggles. There are twists and turns which manage to be neither boringly predictable nor unsatisfying obtuse. It rumbles along at an astounding pace without sacrificing story line, violence is gratifying without being unnecessary and the characters range from deviously abhorrent (without becoming too cliched) to tantalizingly grey. The 'Sci' element lends credibility to the events and technologies without becoming tiresome while the 'Fi' is contextualized through recognizable and relatable concepts widely considered plausible in our own uncertain future. It maintains both heart and mind though is devoid of sentimentality. The art is super good too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
Lazarus Volume 1 presents a grippy story with intriguing characters, and it impresses with the amount of content, depth and storytelling through just four issues.

Forever Carlyle is the protector of her family, she is a shield maiden, a sheriff - a female Judge Dredd to some extent.

The Carlyle family finds itself in a situation with a neighbouring family; Forever is tasked with solving the issue, but is everything as it seems?

An enticing, thrilling easy read with solid artwork and it makes you want to keep on reading beyond this volume and the next!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
I have to admit to being a fan of most of Greg Rucka's work, so I came to this in the hope that it would be a good read. In fact it's more than that. When working with Michael Lark he seems to come into his own, and this is no exception.

A great start to what become a really strong fan cult favourite series. The concepts of the Lazaruses (Lazari?) protecting the families from outsiders and each other is a really intrguing one and I hope it will be given the time to develop and unravel.

Great start, guys!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
The Rucka/Lark combo is fantastic. And the futuristic storyline is simple, horrible and curious questions. I really look forward to the next issue.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
A complex near future world is now set out in clans/families.
Each family has workers (serfs) and wasters.

This story is about eve Carlyle and her complex family set up.

A great introduction and a book that has a great grounding to get better and better.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
I'm not gonna give spoilers so I'll just say that I like the genre and gave it a chance and I'm glad I did and I'm now patiently waiting for the next episodes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse