Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
15
4.8 out of 5 stars

on 15 February 2011
In this volume, Tony Chu and Amelia Mintz start to date seriously and explore the dining delights of their city much to the detriment of illegal meat traffickers, while we catch up with Mason Savoy's goings-on since his disappearance in the first book. Throw in a psychotic chicken, a siege, a unique Thanksgiving dinner, and a mysterious energy beam, and you have another strong book in this superb, underrated series.

Rob Guillory's art continues to be superb, even getting better by the issue. The full cover spread of issue #15 is included here and is a riff on Da Vinci's last supper. John Layman continues to supply dynamite scripts that have snappy dialogue and brilliant setups. His move in the last chapter of this book just pushes the story further into more interesting territory. Not a single issue has been dull and it's entirely to Layman's credit that he's kept the pace up this long and doesn't show signs of flagging.

A superb next book in the series. If you're a fan then you're buying this whether I recommend it or not but if you're wondering if the quality of the first two books is maintained or not I can happily say that if anything the story gets better. I love this series and loved this book and cannot wait for the next volume to hit the stores!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
Once you finish this book, you'll be halfway through this Layman intriguing story, and, if you cared enough to get to this point, you'll be shocked by how much this series has evolved.

The humour is still here, shining and making me laugh out loud as always, but there are other elements that step in, creating a perfect mixture of mistery, drama, comedy and the always gross "gift" Detective Chu has.

A beautiful, oversized book that makes justice to an amazing story. If you never read Chew, like me before purchasing the 3 Omnivore Editions at once, just give it a try, it deserves every type of praise the media has given to it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
It would be so disappointing if the quality of this fabulous work dropped. Thankfully it doesn't. Rather than getting lazy and complacent with success the Chew team becomes even more daring and experimental in terms of art, narrative and ambition.

Like expert plate spinners you constantly wonder how they can keep this many narrative threads alive and distinct. The huge global conspiracy is there. The outer space mystery is there. Plus every character gets a decent amount of page time and there is room to introduce Tony's entire family including his... gasp, shock, horror, [I won't ruin the surprise].

Even in such a short time Chew has established its own conventions. The obligatory prologue; the single issue mystery; the life or death phone call; the hidden background details; the creative lettering; and so on. This attention to detail and blatant charm make you love the book and its wonderful characters. The narrative creativity keeps everything fresh and challenging.

The art is still consistently good with slightly more risks being taken with the techniques and some bold choices. Such as a six page mute sequence that is pretty much a repetition of the same close-up that cryptically foreshadows a major character reveal.

This is excellent through and through with writer and artist at one with the project. Like the perfect meal all its ingredients are skilfully chosen and expertly blended to create a masterpiece. The highest Thumbs Up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
Most issues collected in "Just Desserts" are on par with the best issues of the series I've read so far, in terms of writing. Chew's creative team (John Layman and the amazing Rob Guillory) have a lot of tricks up their sleeves, and it feels like they're only scratching the surface.
Plot-wise, after the madness of International Flavor, we get to learn more about Tony Chu, his family and some of his past acquaintances. The intriguing dynamics between Chu and his family members are the definite highlight of the book. As for the rest, tensions are building-up slowly but surely between our protagonist and his enemy, Savoy. Oh, and Director Applebee is still being a jerk.
Just Desserts is an ambitious transition volume, a set-up for the next exciting installments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2011
Once again a well executed story with a lot of fun and original characters that makes you want more! The artwork remains a clean line, almost manga style, and the story tells us more about the main character and its twisted past. The main reason why it is a successful comic is due to the fact that it is not taking itself too seriously, and that it remains full of food related references that make me giggle non stop!
Cannot wait for the next course!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
Introduces the 'other guy', made me laugh. Its also a good, excuse the pun, taster for the next one. It seems as though its setting up more background and groundwork for future story arcs whilst exploring in more depth the world in which these powers are possible
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
This is still my favourite comic of all time. I started reading chew when the first trade paperback came out and have loved it ever since. I started to get the hardcovers because it's the best way to read my favourite series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2011
This is quite simply one of the best new comic book series of the last few years!

Each volume is as good as the last. Consistantly good writing and artwork. I am only ever dissapointed when it ends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
Chew just keeps getting better and better. The stories are madder, the art more funky and the overarching plot weirder. Love at first bite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
The more I read of this series which works really well on my kindle fire the hungrier I get for more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here