Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
42
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 October 2009
No-one is going to join the story at this point so the main purpose of this review is to assure those that have been on the journey so far that the high quality storytelling continues in this volume.
As others have said before, the real horror of this tale is not in the unrelenting backdrop of the zombie attacks but in the exploration of the darkness of the human soul. Without stability or the ability to settle down and construct a better future for themselves the survivors are all in various states of despair. They are damaged beyond endurance, surviving, like the zombies around them, on the remnants of their former lives. Killing to survive and resorting to violence against each other without hesitation or remorse.

Against this relentlessly grim backdrop, Kirkman does well to continue writing interesting characters and for the most part he avoids resorting to 'monster attack of the week' tactics to keep things moving on. Instead he has created a believable world where all that separates the living from the dead is the knowledge of what they have become.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2009
I only started reading The Walking Dead series earlyer this month for something to do but after finishing vol 1 I was hooked and found myself going down to the book shop on almost a daily basis to get the next instalment. Vol 10 was out of stock so i bought it at Amazon.
I love all the volumes prior to this one and vol 10 certanly does not disapoint! It is briliant, well paced and leaves you wanting more! the author does not try to fit to much into this issue leaving you feeling rush nor does he try and drag it out leaving you boared!
My only critisism with vol 10, as with all other volumes before is that i wish it was longer because once i start reading them I dont want them to finish but this in my opinion is the sign of a good author!
To summerise:
Another briliant issue that follows in the trend of the prior issues! that leaves you wanting more! it will not dissapoint fans! and although new comers would still enjoy this vol. they would get far more enjoyment if they start from vol 1! and as allways, amazon delivered it to me quicker than i excpected! they said "up to 5 working days" i got it in one!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Volume 10 contains weekly comics 55-60. Volume 9 finished with a re-grouping, an expansion even. They’re on the road again and mistrust is causing friction – is Eugene a nutter? Is Abraham completely psycho? Well, those aren’t the only problems presenting themselves in Volume 10, fragile minds have a tendency to break down.

Psychological trauma is something of a theme this volume, within the first few pages we have a suicide attempt, and later on we get glimpses of a personal history which manifests itself now as barely-controllable rage. With a melting pot of uncounselled mental health problems and uncertainty over what is around the next corner (literally), tensions are high and plays for power are constantly being made between Rick and Abraham. It’s not going to be a boring journey. There’s been a theme established over the last few volumes, men are the real monsters rather than the unthinking zombies and it’s a theme which continues here and becomes a pivotal turning point in the story. Maybe Rick and Abraham aren’t so different after all.

We’re back to watching a group now, there are clashes of opinions and while some bonds are forged, others are loosening and only reluctantly holding together. We get some good insights into character backgrounds and there are shocking revelations be made along with re-acquaintances and someone finally asks about Eugene’s mullet. The interactions and character evolution which helps defines the series is back in Volume 10, this is one of the strongest volumes. The artwork stands out well in this volume, dilapidated buildings and abandoned towns are drawn with haunting sadness, instead of looking outright creepy they convey the loss of life which once thrived in the streets. Commerce has gone and all that remains are the decaying shells of shops and dwellings, with personal belongings slowly turning to ruin and once-neat gardens now meadows.

In a nutshell: The Walking Dead is at its absolute best when driven by characters who are focussed on survival and we are given insight into life within their group, that’s all in this volume along with a reminder of what started it all in the first place.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
Ah well, it had to happen – after the excitement of the Governor storyline and the new direction of the series in the last book, Volume 10 of The Walking Dead sees the plot slowing down, almost as if they’re taking stock of everything that’s happened, and it’s a bit of a snoozer. It also weirdly feels like a throwback volume to the kind we got pre-Governor, ie. the bad old days.

Rick and the handful of survivors from the original group, including his son Carl, have joined some new characters led by Abraham, a former US Military serviceman, as they take a scientist, who knows what caused the zombie apocalypse, to Washington, D.C., to uh... fix/explain things? Oh, I cannot wait to see that! Bunch of guys in lab coats sat round, laughing uncomfortably in between blasts from their inhalers. “Yeah, haha, oooooooooh, that whole zombie apocalypse… thing? That was a whacky day in the office! My bad. SOS! Pretty cool to see though, right? I mean, who knew we’d all be living in a George Romero movie if someone dropped that beaker of green liquid! Wait, what’re you doing with that baseball bat…!”.

Rick realises they’re near his old hometown so he and Carl, along with Abraham, go on a gun-gathering mission to Rick’s old police station lockup, while the others sit tight for their return. That’s the plot of this volume - pretty basic, right?

Kirkman uses this book to draw parallels with the first volume and show how much Rick’s changed in the year since he woke up in the abandoned hospital, while also touching base with how the first person Rick met when he left the hospital, Morgan, has fared.

The obviousness of the subtitle – What We Become – and the way that plays into Rick’s behaviour when they encounter a group of child-raping hillbillies who want to take Carl, is borderline comical. This is Kirkman once again attempting to be thoughtful and deep and totally flubbing it – it’s like that “WE are The Walking Dead!” line Rick said; Rick, once again, realising how much he’s changed is kind of obvious to everyone – come on, give the readers some credit, we get that he’s changed and it’s fairly clear to him too, so why spend a whole book on it?

Abraham’s life story is predictably, almost hilariously, bleak because this series is so unrelentingly miserable, as is Morgan’s – hey, it’s The Walking Dead, nobody is allowed to have it easy! – but mostly this book felt like Kirkman replaying moments from earlier in the series. The angsty internal politics of the group flare up again with the new members, they hunt for more firearms again, and there’s even another attempted suicide!

And, like with the earlier attempted suicide, it has the opposite effect, at least to me, coming out of the blue like it did and made me laugh. It’s one of the seasoned characters so it seemed odd that they’d choose now to try to off themselves, even with the new information from Rick. It just felt like they’d moved on and had some semblance of happiness in their new life, and Kirkman threw that in so Abraham’d have a moment of doubt in what he’d been doing up ‘til then. Just felt contrived, s’all.

Maybe Kirkman’s making a point about the repetitive nature of this new world where strangers getting thrown together without knowing each other will always raise matters of trust and create tension in a group, and that gun/ammo runs have become a daily occurrence in the characters’ lives, but it’s still not very interesting for the audience to read.

That’s not to say this book isn’t fun because that whole sequence where Rick, Carl and Abraham get caught up in a zombie herd was great, and I like the uncertainty that mentally unbalanced Morgan brings to the group – methinks he’s not long for this series! But there’s a lot of what feels like filler in this book when I’d have preferred for the group to have hit the trail to DC hard instead.

So Volume 10’s an average addition to the series as a whole but hopefully, going forward, the series will put its compelling plot to better use and once more build up momentum.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2009
Volume 10 continues Kirkman's fantastic zombie horror series. The plot and characters are now well established and continue to develop with the ever-present threat of attack from the living dead and more so from other survivors. Rick and the rest of the group are heading towards DC hoping to find... something.

There are no pious clichés or baseless optimism - just survival at any cost.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
Excilent better then the tv show !!!
im now up to date with the last issue waiting for the next with baited breth
The cliff hanger endings of each issue will drive u to whant the next at each issue i cant recomend this enough!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
This series is amazing. I don't normally read graphic novels, but I wanted to try something different when I received my kindle Fire HD. I like horror stories and decided to give these books a go. They're more than just horror, they're about human nature and how people would react to such cataclysmic changes in their lives. Amazing work and a joy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
Just as harsh and great as always, no major plot developments here. But we do get to learn some more about characters introduced end of last issue, imagine will sadly take a little while to get back to epicness of the governor arc but still does not mean is some great reading. So addictive tho, want more and more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
Have bought all the volumes for my son who is a massive Walking Dead fan. We do all watch the TV programme together, but he loves these graphical novels, they are very well drawn and the story is a little different from the TV program so if you enjoy the program I think these are a great read. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2010
If you've read the previous 9 chapters, there is no doubt you will buy this anyway. This series is absolutely brilliant at capturing the harsh and brutal reality set-up in this zombie filled world. It covers not only the violent and gory aspect of the undead forces battling the surviving humans, but also the interactions between humans that dont trust each other, yet still need to cling to one another to live. This chapter pulls no punches as usual and leaves you in shock when you close book, clamouring for the next installment. Highly recommended to all fans of comics and/or zombies.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse