Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
41
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£29.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2012
I am currently making a hexagon quilt (not from this book) and can only be amazed at the work that has gone into producing the quilts in this book.
They are varied and groped into the following categories: rosette, diamonds, stars, blocks and free form. The box bag had caught my eye and could very well be my first small project. Or it could be something for Christmas. Or perhaps the Argyle quilt.......
I have not made any of the quilts as yet, so the reason for four stars, but the instructions firstly detail the number of hexagons required and then expand on how to quickly achieve this number. Really useful.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
I am sure this would be excellent in book form with colour and would be more easy to follow. It does not lend itself to Kindle.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
Hexa go-go fits right into what is going on in the quilting world. It's all about hexagons, but boy does Tacha show you that there is more to hexagons than just the tried and tested Grandmother's Flower Garden! It's certainly a very modern take on an age-old technique and fits right in with the whole slow movement ideas that are catching on everywhere. As Tacha quite rightly says: "Hexagons are wonderfully portable - quilting's answer to knitting". They are also excellent for using up small scraps!

The book is well written, with very clear instructions which would be perfect for beginners and the photography is great, and has a bit of a hippy, ethno-chic look to it.

My favourite pieces in the book were the modern take on Grandmother's Flower Garden, the Snowflakes patterns and the Giant Star Pillow. I really hope that we'll see a volume two of this, branching out into other shapes, because from what I can see, there's a big gap in the market in that area!

Great job Tacha!!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
I love hexagons, always have and when I saw the front cover of Tacha Bruecher's book, I just had to see inside! This book is based around English paper piecing, Tacha says that hexagons are quilting's answer to knitting. The book starts off with an outline of what English paper piecing is and how to choose fabrics, set blocks, print or stamp on fabric, getting started and template making. The Cat Tails Quilt 70" x 92" is just fabulous, vibrant colours and mixing up machine and hand piecing. The instructions are clear, well written and full of helpful tips and design notes. Large and small projects, hand and machine sewn, so lots of choice on what to make - depending on how long you want to spend making something. I think my favourite quilt is the Over the rainbow quilt, a perfect rainbow in fabrics. It measures a whopping 112 inches square and the hexs are 1 inch, isn't it stunning? Perfect for some small and precious fabrics that you may have saved up. There is a Modern Grandmother's Flower Garden quilt, a modern twist on the traditional Grandmothers Flower garden, with added coin strips and sashing. In amongst the quilts are some free form projects, again beautifully explained, a zippered pouch, needle book, table runner and Christmas project. For the patriotic amongst us there is an Union Jack and Stars and Stripes quilts - perfect to the Olympics! Many of you will know Tacha from Fat Quarterly and her fab blog or Flickr. The book is suitable for any level of skill or time commitment, using both modern and traditional designs. You will also find that English paper piecing is the perfect antidote to the modern world a real stress busters as well as stash buster! A must for anyone wanting to English paper piece or just be inspired by the fabulous designs.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2012
I have always loved hexagons and this book really adds a modern dimension to them. Being stitched by hand, hexagons are so portable and can be popped into your bag when you know you are going to be in a waiting room or going on holiday. The instructions in Hexa-Go-Go are very clear and the patterns inspirational. My grand daughter - soon to be 22 - wants a copy for her birthday after seeing mine and can't wait to get going with her hexagons. I would recommend it to anyone who loves sewing by hand.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
Lots of mouth watering projects and tons of useful hints and tips on technique for paper piecing. I can't wait to have a go at the Union Jack quilt!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
What a great book! I was so happy to see use the fantastic resources in the Appendix, and very delighted to find out about the author's website(s). It is great to see how a traditional method has been rejuvenated into a contemporary book with contemporary fabrics and a contemporary aesthetic. The single best sewing book I have ever bought.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
If you love hand sewing Hexagons this is a book for you it has a very modern out lay of a very traditional patchwork method great quilt, great colour ways and a book for anyone who wants to make a quilt that a little diffent from just Hexagons.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
A fantatsic helpful, colourful, informative book. Have only recently puchased it so have not yet made anything but from the look of the contents it will not be difficult. Many thanks.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
Way to go Tacha! I love this book and find Tacha's quilts so pretty especially since I was honored to see all of the projects shot for this book in person - they are each crafted with such patience, love and attention to detail. This is a great quilting book!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)