Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
15
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 October 2013
The work of restoration on these strips makes this a book to salivate over - just so long as you don't drool on the sumptuous artwork!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
This is a fantastic re-print of the great Hal Faster cartoon. Sheer pleasure to read. Can't wait for the next
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
This is a fantastic book series luxurius, with great stories in very large format and very well done, with extras, etc. By a master artist in his best period!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
One of the best volumes in the best published version of Hal Foster's Prince Valliant. Durable, looks great, nice extra material. The hardcover format is great (a key deciding factor for me when deciding to buy comics). Be aware however that the format is a bit high, so some bookshelves may have to be re-arranged for the books to fit in :-) Definitely going to collect more volumes in this great series. Now that all the initial books 1-5 are released you can get a reasonable complete introduction to Prince Valliant, so now it the right time to start collecting.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
This series is a must for anyone interested in older classic 'historical' comics, in our case an excellent production (large hardcover colorful books) of the adventurous works of one of the masters of the genre!! One of my absolut essentials~
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2016
Very satisfied. I look forward to deal with Amazon in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
This was one of my favourite comics when I was young.
This is a lovely edition, of great quality and full of memories for me. I bought this for one of my sons who's into medieval stuff and knights. He also likes it very much, and I have already bought him the 2nd volume for next Xmas.
Something different from the standard marvel comics (which I like too, by the way), and other cheap stuff bough at the newsagents.
Highly recommended. The only problem for children would be to read it at night due that it is a pretty "big" comic, of a bigger size than any average comic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
Hal Foster is a new discovery for me and his drawings are magnificent. The cover shows a sample of what is inside although not nearly as good quality as the internal pages. These people have obviously taken a lot of care to produce this volume with the best quality reproduction from original printer's proofs. The book is very big and taller than most of my shelves, but I highly recommend it for the very beautiful artwork. The story is placed convincingly in the time of King Arthur and Foster has worked hard to achieve authenticity in what he has drawn, such that fact and fiction become blended. Prince Valiant is the hero of the piece and the stories basically follow his adventures (and like so many people in stories, he does seem to have rather a lot of them!). There are no mythical dragons, but plenty of drama, fights and the occasional beautiful girl. The stories are very well put together and have pace through the adventures to keep you reading whilst being assaulted by a visual feast. How I wish there were more things of this quality, but today's computer-generated pulp is well and truly put to shame here. I have all three volumes now and am eagerly awaiting the fourth. The price may look a little high, but you definitely get quality here: the paper, the printing, the presentation, the colours, the drawing and the story. Don't take my word for it, get your own copy!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Fabulous quality reproductions with excellent colour, lovely paper, well bound and presented. This is a very superior volume and the story telling within is beautiful, far flung (Val visits the Americas in this volume), impish (his princess), and sadly lacking in today's pulp market where you will not find anything of this depth and quality with such attention to details. All in all Hal Foster's work is beautiful and whilst this may be an expensive volume, you won't be disappointed.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2009
What a joy to see Prince Valiant, re-edited and with such fantastic colours. The best comic in the world finally deserves the treatment in gets! In the past I have seen far to many re-prints that killed the golrious art of Hal Foster.

cant wait to put my hands on the 2nd volume.

If you are a fan of Prince Valiant like myself, you will not regret buying this. beautiful edition in high quality paper.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here