Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 29 September 2015
What a wonderful book! The quality is outstanding, the presentation is divine. The patterns are to die for and must have taken a terrific lot of effort in designing them. There are even short clips of what I assume are the diarys of the ladies they were designed around. If you never get round to knitting any of the garments it is a fabulous book to read and I would heartily recommend it to anyone who is interested in knitting or English history. OK the book isn't cheap but when you see the quality of it you will understand why.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2014
This is a beautiful book with stunning designs. Each design is accompanied by a short story attempting to give an insight into each of the Tudor Ladies who inspired the creations. The patterns are not for novice knitters but I think they will give motivation to those who wish to further their skills. Even If you never manage to knit any of the designs, this book will still be a joy to have.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2014
My partner opened the parcel and thought this was an art book. I've never seen a knitting book like this - beautiful photos but the garments really shine through and are photographed from all views so you can really see the cut and fit.

The patterns are quite complex, even for an experienced knitter. There are several patterns that I plan to knit but the sizes are for shorter women, so careful planning is needed.

The yarns used are gorgeous.

An expert knitter will be spoiled for choice. A novice will have something to aspire to.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2014
Extraordinarily beautiful book. I have already started on three of the patterns and have only had the book for less than a week. The patterns are very well presented and if you have reasonable knitting skills are not as difficult as they may look. I thoroughly recommend this book to ANY knitter.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2014
not for the fainthearted, but the design and construction of these garments is actually simpler than you imagine at first glance. Patience and perseverance will be needed, but every one has that understated "wow" factor that is just Alice!.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2018
I bought this book as I was looking for patterns that were a little unusual. This fitted the bill and there are some exquisite patterns. I can't wait to get knitting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2014
OMG... so many beautiful designs to choose from...each one has an unique pattern and design....there is not one pattern in this book that I will not attempt....a book to droll over many times....I pick it up and re read the stories......Alice Starmore has created a stunning book that should hit the headlines in the knitting world..Love it to bits a fantastic book....the cover in itself is so touchable I do not want this left on the coffee table to be messed with
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 April 2018
Very interesting book. Lovely patterns and interesting facts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2017
Beautiful book, I love it and it looks nice on the coffee table!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2015
wonderful book, given as a crimbo present, charts take some getting used to, but if one takes ones time, the results are as the pictures!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)