Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
19
4.3 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2016
Excellent overview of ADHD from a renowned scientific expert on the subject. Lots of practical advice, very little filler or fluff. The author makes clear what it is, what causes it, what's bad about it, why it should be tackled immediately and persistently, and the best ways to do so: knowledge, awareness, medicines, and strategies/tools. Debunks a lot of myths, using hard scientific evidence, facts, and peer-reviewed cite research - great for persuading the open-minded and informing the ignorant. The author doesn't shy away from giving some painful personal experiences of the bad effects of ADHD on people. He also discloses his commercial interests (consulting for some medical companies on treatments). I laughed out loud at his description of the 'Full Cleveland'. Some great advice in here.

On advising ADHD sufferers not to wallow in self-pity - “I am bald, colour blind to reds and greens by about 60% or more, not well-coordinated, cannot draw or paint a lick, am not very mechanically inclined or talented, am musically rather inept, now have to wear reading glasses, have nearly completely grey hair (what is left of it), find the remainder now migrating south into my nose and ears, and am developing a slow but progressive left facial weakness when talking, among other psychological and physical inadequacies I certainly possess....So what? No one is perfect; big deal. Now just own it and get on with life."

On the power of knowledge: “The more widely you pursue information, the more likely you are to distinguish trustworthy information and reliable sources from the fashionable, flimsy, baseless, or outright false.”

Excellent stuff, essential for anyone dealing with ADHD in any capacity.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
Good book for people who are newly diagnosed such as my self providing reassurance by simple advice and easy to follow thinking and self help steps. The books is some what distant for people such as my self in the UK for the fact that it follows the American style of treatment and help however the lifestyle changes and day to day tips can be used anywhere. Truly a good book for people seeking to come to terms with ADHD or for people who live or work with people with ADHD a great all round book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
for a course
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
Dr Barkley is without doubt one of the worlds great authorities on ADHD and most of this book is backed up by scientific research rather than just anecdotes. He gives excellent guidance and basic strategies for coping with the condition and I found the book easy to read and often inspirational.
However, 2 things :
First, it is very much centred around hyperactivity/impulsivity and if you have only inattention there are large parts that are pretty much irrelevant. Dr Barkley's non-identical twin brother had seriously hyperactive aADHD and I think this informs a lot of his involvement with this subject. Early on in the book he states that the book does NOT cater for inattentive types but this should be stated on the cover so people don't waste time and money. He also mentions that recent research seems to indicate Inattentive Variant Adult ADHD might be a totally separate condtion called SCT but then fails to offer any pointers as to where you could go for further help.
Second, he does disclose the fact that he is sponsored by several drug companies but I can't help feeling that this must compromise his integrity a little. He is VERY enthusiastic about drug therapies but even though I personally know many people whose lives are transformed by them, his writing is undermined because of this financial vector.
55 Comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
This book is such a downer, so very, very negative, that I can't help feeling that Dr Barkley is out to make people with an ADHD diagnosis feel bad about themselves. Medication is the only solution (if you're not on it nothing else will work). ADHD makes you less creative (errr, says who?). I think it's best avoided. Ned Hallowell's Delivered from Distraction (or better still the old classic Driven to Distraction) are to my mind much, much better --- admitting the strengths of ADHD as well as the struggles it brings.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
An amazing and well written book. The author has distilled many years of experience and research into it. It explains in a language that is understandable to anyone. It is a must read for anyone suspecting of having ADHD as well as psychiatrist/therapist wanting to know more about ADHD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
Very well explained, ADHD as a neurological disorder, so from a scientific point of view. Focusing on adults is necessary too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
Very easy to understand and gives practical techniques on how to manage the condition. I will be utilising much of the advice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
Happily understanding a heck of a lot more about my ADD - thanks to this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
Amazing value! A must have for every one with adult ADHD or for the family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)