Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2014
Honest and compelling read. One of the best wrestling books out there. Fantastic
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
Since witing this review, I have noticed the people buying this on kindle have much higher apprication for the book. I can only put that down to the price difference , in Kindle it is under £5 which I would pay for this book. I bought the hardcover (it is an insult to call it that as the book is tiny) which is more then triple the price, which is in no way worth the content.

Original review:

This book is a complete Rip off. It is ridiculous. It says the book is 336 pages. That is a lie the book is 211 pages including the acknowledgments. Even then the pages are so small the book could pass for a paperback! So that is 211 pages of wide margins. There is more white space on the page then actual words. That fact that they charged me £15.95 for a book worth £5.95 annoys me more than anything else. As for the wrestling aspect of the book let face it if you are buying this book then you are or were at some point a wrestling fan. The wrestling part of the book starts in the last 2 chapters. About 30 of these tiny pages. This book is a glorified introduction to Bookers second book he is planning! All wrestling fans should avoid this book. Unless you are the most die hard Booker T fan and must know every aspect of his childhood, teen and his early 20 which he spent in crime, in which case you might still be disappointed, because it say the story will be told in the narrative meaning many of the incidents are exaggerated or untrue. Brock got a lot of flack for the length of his book, Bookers is by comparison shorter and contains less about wrestling. This is a story about redemption but with this I feel Booker is still trying to hussel people.
55 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
Ordered this by accident! Never heard of the guy & have no interest whatsoever in wrestling. Enjoyed reading it though. Inspirational.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
Booker’s book has got to be in my top ten wrestling books of all time. It is refreshing and different, and offers very little in the ways of the squared circle. Whatever. His journey is truly one of a kind, and this book is one of a kind. I could not recommend a book more than this one. It is a quick, really easy read, but with a compelling story. Trust me, this book is well worth the few hours it takes to read it. And congratulations to Booker T for his WWE Hall of Fame induction. Never has an individual so deserved it. SUCKAAAAAA!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
I have read various wrestling books over the years and I found this one a little tame to be honest. It was nice to read about his life before the ring but I thought I would have gotten more an insight in the wrestling side of things. Perhaps he is keeping that book on the back burner until he finishes with the WWE.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
Have to say though it was a short book (just over 210 pages long) I really enjoyed reading about Booker T and his life before he moved to WCW as part of Harlem Heat with his brother Stevie Ray!
It was amazing to see the hard life as a young man that he lived and the fact he was past around from family n friends. I found it interesting to see the pride he took in some of the petty crimes he participated in in his early life as well!!
I'd recommend this to anyone who loves wrestling and anyone who loves a rags to riches story!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
product information not correct.number of pages is incorrect.too short a read.dont buy it.real disappointed.i was looking forward to reading it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
After reading Jericho and foleys books it was a step down to read this ghost written piece. It's full of the standard cliches - 'mum cooking up a storm in the kitchen' etc. that said, it's an interesting story - I wish it detailed his wrestling in Texas. As it stands you only get twenty odd pages that cover three years of wrestling.

Missed opportunity
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2016
Very good read not only for the wrestling but for the interesting life booker t has lived. After reading this book I would also recommend his second book. Both books are great in their own right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
Booker T shows everyone you can turn your life around, from life in prison to a well known wrestling superstar an excellent detailed read, but be aware this book is more about his younger life outside the ring and the build up to the start of his career, obviously there will be a second book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)