Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2017
I like the way Ray writes and this book is a great tool to extend the lifespan of your health. However I have found myself expanding my supplements selection significantly :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2016
Very informative publication.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I read this book because, probably like most of you, I'd like to live healthier for longer/indefinite.

** Good points **
Ray provides some very valuable ideas that challenge way we think, e.g. just because we automatically associate the two together there is a difference between biological age and chronological age, the two don't necessarily have to go hand in hand.

I found the book inspirational because of presentation of genuine facts of how rapidly technology is advancing exponentially. For example, in 100,000 years of human civilisation, 230 years ago there was not even a steam engine..now we have machines that can fly and take man to space..! In the 1960's a computer was the size of a room, cost 100 million dollars.. half a decade later we have computers 100,000 times more powerful in our pockets..! Imagine the advancements in the next 30 years with these super powerful computers! Ray points out these achievements will not just be in electronics/computers.. but now in nanotechnology and medicine.. with profound results.

He mentions there are 9 processes of ageing and talks how research is being done that reverses these processes, and how we can slow some of these natural effects down until technology solves the issues.

** Less good points **
I think couple of his facts were not up-to-date, e.g. aspartamine, the artificial food sweeter, has been declared 'safe' with recent studies and there is no evidence found for causing various diseases it has been accused of. However, to be fair, Ray did say 'Aspartamine **may** cause these diseases so better to avoid' which I think was a sensible precaution.

There was a section on exercise positions/movements which I think was a waste of space & a dry read.. you can't describe exercises in words.. would have been much better to just recommends joining a yoga class or giving resources where to get training.. then again, exercise is something I'm very familiar with so perhaps this section was useful for those who are not.

** Overall **
Overall, inspirational book to read containing practical advice. Definite worth a read.. and I really hope his predictions are correct :)

P.s. let me know if this review was helpful for you and I can leave some more. Cheers guys
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2016
Interesting book, but I had expected something more original including the possibility of transferring human brain content to a machine. The health advices are quite classical and I have the feeling that any trained nutritionist or "hypocratic" doctor would give more efficient advice as it would match the clinical diagnostic of the patient.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
An easy read and makes you think about steps to improve your current health. Builds on themes from his earlier books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2010
The authors of this book describe exactly how ageing process works and how diseases such as cancer or heart disease develop. The detail is stunning - they explain everything atom by atom, molecule by molecule. The book contains a guide about how much vitamins or minerals to take every day - this is supported by a rigorous research - like all the topics in the book. The book even contains a chapter with recipes and there's a week menu which shows examples of what to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner. This book aims to change ones lifestyle with a focus on promoting longevity and preventing most diseases. I had this book for a while and it really opened my eyes in terms of what I should eat and what I shouldn't eat. There's also a list of supplements that are natural and don't have any side effects. Each of them is described in detail in terms of side effects and what are they good for, which organ or body function they support. The aim of this book is to help everyone to live a bit longer using current knowledge, to be able to benefit from the huge technological development in the future. I also tried some supplements, especially those from the Brain and Heart chapter and they really work. My memory returned, I feel fresh and I can run much faster than before.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
Want to live forever? This is the book for you. That may sound like a fatuous statement to accompany some woolly, magical thinking guide, but everything here is based on the latest scientific studies (all referenced, if you don't want to take the authors at their word). Indeed, Kurzweil is a leading scientific philosopher, best-known for his writing on the coming technology singularity. Grossman is a doctor.

How can you live forever? It's a simple equation. In the 2020s, biotech advances will extend lifespans. In the 2030s, nanotech advances will help your body repair itself ad infinitum. This book is a guide to everything you can do yourself to help you live just long enough to reach the first 'bridge', which should then carry you through to the second. Simple. Here is all the latest thinking on nutrition, exercise, relaxation, supplements, calorie reduction, new technologies and more - and not just what works, but why it works. You will also find some of the surprising, hidden things that are slowly killing you. And if you think you know all this stuff, I'm betting that you don't.

None of the advice is onerous. Little changes have big consequences. Even if you're a confirmed cynic, making those changes will undoubtedly make you feel better, so what's to lose?

If you don't consider yourself 'scientifically minded', don't worry - all the scientific evidence here isn't hard-going. The two authors have a lively writing style and communicate detailed information in an easily-digested form. This is a 'how to...' guide, recommended for everyone. Philosophically, it'll make you look at the world around you in a different way. And as a template for really improving your day-to-day existence, it's unparalleled.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
I found this book very interesting as living a healthy life is very important to me. As I am not an expert ,I did not know how to keep the cells of my body at their best but after reading this book, I know what I should be doing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
Very interesting and astonishing and new content. Worth reading! I like the writer and follow his work. Try it and enjoy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
The first thing I have to say is that the title is definitely false advertising. "Forever" does not exist with any natural phenomenon. Everything in the world is born to life, lives which means follows a track of growth and decay, dies and eventually is reborn through some form of reproduction for the organisms that can reproduce. No one will live forever. The human species is genetically planned to disappear in a way or another like all other animal species. The best thing that happens with animal life is that natural evolution eliminates organisms that are no longer fit for survival in the changing environment it lives in and replaces it with an organism that is fitter to that environment.

The point with human beings is that natural evolution has endowed our species with a form of intelligence that enables us to go against this natural evolution by changing the environment, by producing our means of survival, by going against decay and death even for the individuals who are obviously badly adapted for survival and would die in a jiffy if natural evolution had the last word. Religion, science, technology, medicine are the human inventions that enabled the species to extend its survival and expand its living conditions.

We find that same "human" vanity in the first chapter when the authors say "You create your brain" (p. 7). The brain is a given organ that depends as for its existence on the genetic inheritance of the individual or the species. They say then "You create your brain from the input you get" (p. 8). This is less false since it takes into account the input, but the genetic input cannot be an input "you" get because "you" do not exist in anyway before this genetic inheritance is brought up by the fertilization of an egg by a spermatozoon. They finally come to a closer truth when they say "I do indeed create my mind from my own thoughts" (p. 8) The mind is not an organ, but it is a meta-sense, meaning it is potentially contained in the genetic structure and functionality of the brain in its body and under the survival requirement in the body's and species' environment.

The mistake is the use of the word "create". The comparison with muscles should have made them realize the vanity of this word. Exercise and training does not "create" a muscle but only develops it. The proper approach of the mind would be that our sensorial experiences and the strong requests from our environment in order to survive, and today to get an education which is the basic social survival requirement, DEVELOP the mental function of the brain and hence the MIND. As for the brain the same sensorial experiences plus physical activities along with the development of language DEVELOP the brain's ability to "think", DEVELOP our THOUGHTS or THINKING and hence enable the brain to DEVELOP in itself connections and relations between the various cells that are genetically programmed to establish such relations and connections. True enough it is this global experience of coordinated actions, coordinated thinking, articulated language and systematic reflection (distantiation and mental reconstruction) that makes the brain of any individual what it is, rich or poor, richly developed or underdeveloped, etc.

I am surprised that the authors did not speak of mirror neurons that are essential in contact with other people and learning. Yet they compensate this flaw with the mention of spindle cells that are essential to build complex responses to the environment, i.e. coordinated, articulated and empathetic reactions. Language is these responses though the authors concentrate on emotions. They do not even consider the ancillary role, not to speak of the conceptual role of language in thinking, communicating, emotional contact, etc. Their world is entirely language-empty, and that is regrettable because articulated language is a basic human dimension resulting from natural evolution.

Now this book, by far too big for simple readers, is clear on a few healthy elements: To live better and longer, man or woman must be active, practice regular and rather exacting exercise, sleep properly, eat healthy and balanced food, drink moderately and non exciting beverages (alcohol or caffeine or energizing drinks, though they don't mention these that are included under caffeine) and practice relaxation and even meditation.

As for activity and exercise, they do not specify a wide enough variety: no walking, no bicycling, no swimming, apparently only aerobics and running lengthily mentioned. As for healthy food, they speak against deep frying and other high temperature cooking, but they do not speak one word on low temperature cooking that microwave ovens provide. As for relaxation and meditation they stop short, a long way short, of Buddhist and Oriental meditation that some consider as being self-hypnosis into total inner relaxation by pushing away outer environmental elements. Yoga is definitely, in its Western reduction to some kind of physical and mental recipe, a trendy suggestion in Northern America and the developed world.

The TRANSCEND program is also very surprising in its first element, "talk with your doctor" and heavy emphasis on medical tests and prescription drugs, because it sounds like open and unconditional support to the medical profession that has not done much so far for prevention but has done so far a lot for surgical and chemotherapeutic inflexibility if not obduracy. People have to become their own mental doctors and meditation as well as education are essential, and the "talk with your doctor" provides neither. The book then becomes a set of recipes (including a vast food recipe section) and suggestions (including a vast aerobic section) counterbalanced by long lists of supplements and drugs and chemical elements etc. Anyone who does not have a high degree of training and curiosity in the field will not get a real positive return from this book.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
1515 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)