Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2017
Whilst this may be a very good book well written, logically building upon the ( recent ancient history of the mysteries) the foundation of the the source of mysteries I have found in the first two chapters only go as far back as circa 3000 years.

What is the crucial flaw in the digital publication , at the end of the first three chapters it seems to have some text missing.

I would advise against buying the digital version. As one gets settled into reading a chapter only to find that all the chapters of the book are incomplete.

A rip off and disservice to the writer and the body of knowledge that is herein articulated.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
A marvellous piece of work with a broad spectrum of ancient teachings, philosophy, symbolism and metaphor. This book will broaden your mind, although it can be heavy going in places. A must have. I would love the big version in hardback to appreciate some of the illustrations. Not a quick read but well worth the effort
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
Worth a read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
In its original format, this is an incredible book - truly a life-changing read. I have read a pdf version of this book which is over 600 pages long. I bought this version to add to my physical bookshelf, and I was hugely disappointed to discover that this version has zero illustrations! Not one! This makes the book only 200 or so pages long, and makes a true discussion and analysis of *symbolism* almost impossible. Such a shame. How can we appreciate the intricate symbols and embellishments of ancient and secret societies without any illustrations? My advice would be to avoid this incomplete version, and find a copy with illustrations.
11 Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
very happy, service and product perfect. thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 April 2011
I have struggled manfully through the first 200 pages of this volume so far and it is excruciating.

This is not in any way because of the writing of Manly Hall, which is a staggeringly erudite treasury of what I suppose could be termed Western esotericism. The fact that Hall wrote this at such a young age and in so short a space of time makes this book even more impressive. The title is kind of correct - this is an encyclopedic outline - but the book's scope takes in just so much that limiting the title to Hermetic, Qabbalistic and Rosicrucian symbolic philosophy doesn't seem to do it full justice. If you're looking for a one-volume esoteric reference then you should consider The Secret Teachings...

...published by someone else.

This really is by a country mile the worst editing and proofing of a book I have ever seen. It should be recalled and pulped because every page is absolutely littered with the most horrendous errors that you have to fight your way through the text, translating, transposing, reconstructing, head scratching and second-guessing. I suspect the fault here lies with the production method of Forgotten Books which, I'm guessing, is using some kind of OCR scanning of original texts and then publishing books digitally on a 'print to order' basis. This is potentially an exciting new way to publish perhaps out of print and niche books but the OCR software isn't very good, the printing quality is shabby (all illustrations are pixellated to the extent that they make little sense) and the proof reading is nil.

The result? Bizarre punctuation, with commas, full stops and capital letters interspersed at absolute random throughout the text, tripping up and confounding any possible flow. Typos EVERYWHERE, some caused by obvious poor scanning software ('modem' appears a lot in place of 'modern'). Paragraphs just petering out...literally just ending mid sentence leaving you searching the page for where the text might be taken up again but, no, it's just disappeared. Sub-paragraphs to explain illustrations and figures appear 'in-line' with the main body of the text...not in a box, or indented or in any way separated from the main text, so the notes to accompany a diagram (which you can't really discern any detail of anyway because of the pixellation) may appear half way through a paragraph of regular text.

Oh, and my binding started to give way as soon as I opened the book.

Honestly, if this book is anything to go by, avoid Forgotten Books like the plague.
55 Comments| 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2016
Love this book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2016
Print very small!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
Weird but interesting book on occult history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2016
Not too bad a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)