Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2017
Got me through a bizarre trip to Vegas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
I read Dark Universe in paperback form when it was brand new in 1961 - and I've re-read it many times since. Daniel Galouye manages to convey some very deep thoughts and emotions in this story. The worship of the great Light Almighty in a land of total blackness where humanity has evolved certain abilities to aid their survival. Then the "monsters" arrive with their silent screams... I recommend it to you with a certain degree of jealousy that you get to read it for the very first time. Enjoy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Galouye wrote relatively few novels, and in general they all had the same plot, main character trying to work out his situation and escape from it. Even in the fifties this was pretty basic and old hat. What made him great was the novelty of the situations the characters found themselves in and the details he put into the situation. There are several earlier SF novels which are set in caves but this is the only one I know which is in darkness, and with an entirely light-less society. On top of that the writing is vigorous and clear, and he reveals the details of the world in a way that retains suspense.

Read and enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2016
I thought the premise of this book is interesting. A society exists underground that has never seen light and has developed a method of using sound and smell to get around. In particular, they use echoes as a type of 'sonar' to picture what's around them in quite a(n unbelievable) level of detail. It's quite obvious to the reader that these people are the descendants of members of modern society who sheltered from a nuclear war, but the true nature of the world has been forgotten over the generations and has entered myth and folklore.

The main character has doubts about the religious approach to Light and Darkness and wants to understand their true meaning. At the same time, a number of strange occurrences start to happen, including the appearance of monsters in the tunnels.

Overall, I enjoyed the book but it does labour the point somewhat about a couple of aspects that are pretty obvious to the reader. This repetition stops me awarding it five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2012
Dark Universe is a well written science fiction novel with a lot of thought gone into all the details. It's the sort of book that makes you think after you have finished it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2015
I had read this years ago and it still stands the test of time. \a fascinating concept.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2010
I recently bought this book after reading an article about it on [...]

I don't often read novels, but found this to be a fascinating concept for a story and exceptionally written as it would be impossible to make a film of this story - I won't say why as I wouldn't want to spoil the story for anyone.

The novel is a little short and the ending could be considered a bit of a let-down for some. Never the less, I would recommend this book if you like science fiction.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£7.35

Need customer service? Click here