Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 21 October 2017
Elvis punching horses and chimpanzees???? If that was the case then the man goes down rapidly in my estimation. Clearly not able to control anything from the outset let alone his life. Sonny West certainly had a problem with quite a few people in the circle not just Elvis. Tom Parker appears to be the best thing since sliced bread. Mmmmm. Even Lisa Marie comes under fire. I learnt little about Elvis the person other than stuff that if I actually believed most of it, would make me dislike Elvis Presley intensely. Elvis obviously had many flaws but his biggest was surrounding himself with the likes of the Memphis Mafia who appeared to have quite readily gone scuttling back with their tail between their legs after falling-out with Elvis. Says it all really, it was a good free ride on Elvis's generosity while it lasted and each of them knew it and milked it while they could, then brought out the vitriol when they were disposed of and it obviously still rankles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2016
Brilliant could not put it down enjoyed reading all about elvis and what he got up to when making all his films and what better person to tell it all than sonny west who was with him on that journey I truly believe sonny loved him and only wanted to help elvis get straight if your an elvis fan like myself this book is a real insight into his life that you will enjoy reading about
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
Great book it was a great read another good book is Elvis and the memphis mafia
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
Great read, lovely and respectfully written, good insight into Elvis life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
what can I say, a fantastic read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2007
I had a problem with this book, I have read many Elvis books over the years including "What Happened" and I think that maybe the problem. I think this book would have been more enjoyable if I hadn't read "What Happened" It has obviously many of the same stories but after 30 years the telling comes across a little differently. I understand that time is a healer but to me this book comes over as almost an apology. I just didn't get it.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2007
This book comes out at a time when the market is saturated with Elvis Product due to the 30th Anniversary of his death. I suppose EPE already played one of their 'Ace' cards in having former 'Memphis Mafia' friend and colleague, Jerry Schilling release his book into the Elvis World somewhat before Sonny West released "Still Taking Care of Business"...maybe they thought that Sonny's story was going to turn out as another 'bitter-tasting' story of a revenge-of-sorts.

Nevertheless, Mr Sonny West does Elvis a little more proud than he did first time around with his collaboration in the controversial 1977 best-seller "Elvis - What Happened?" (co-written with his equally bitter cousin Red West and buddy Dave Hebler along with 'Sensationalistic Drama Queen' reporter, Steve Dunleavy). The story goes that Sonny, Red and Dave were fired from the Elvis entourage back in the summer of 1976 due to a cut-back in expenses as told to them by Elvis' Daddy, Vernon. Elvis was out of town when each were hit with this news. So, obviously, it was a mighty shocker for Sonny (employed by Elvis for 16 years), Red (employed by Elvis for at least 21 years) and Dave (employed by Elvis for only 3 years) to be given this short notice and 1 week's pay, and Elvis was nowhere to be had. The end result of this situation was always going to be "Elvis - What Happened?" naturally because the guys were teed-off with how IT happened, plus they needed to pay the rent money. However, rent money aside, let us not forget the fact that the guy's did love EP as a brother so maybe the other motive of 'writing the book to make Elvis aware of what he was doing to himself...and the people around him...' still holds as a possible sincere afterthought - after the thought of getting that damn rent paid, maybe...

However, Sonny West does genuinely come across as a straight-talking type of guy who also liked to play and work hard for Elvis. Thirty years on you could say that this effort from Sonny - his attempt at redressing the balance with his first attempt all those years ago - is probably the closest that we'll ever get to the truth about the more bizarre and so-called shocking times that were dramatically sensationalized in "Elvis - What Happened?" You will laugh and cry throughout and feel a great amount of sadness towards the end of the book as Elvis embarks on the downward spiral that led to his untimely passing.

I think you can see Sonny's perspective a little more clearly in this book and you do get to read familiar stories that aren't marred by tales of sensationalism. There are plenty of stories in the book thay you won't be familiar with too. If you want to discover the very human-side of 'The King of Rock 'n' Roll' and what he was really like to work for and live with throughout the various ups and downs of his 23-year period of Superstardom, then "Still Taking Care of Business" would be a good place to start.

It's a welcome addition...or a welcome apology, as the case maybe...to your Elvis book collection that doesn't necessarily leave a bitter taste this second time around.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2007
A great easy to read, unable to put down book. It will make you cry, get angry and laugh. It gives you a good insight not only into Mr Presley's life but Sonny's life too. You can feel, if not, read, the love oozing between the lines and flowing off the pages. Extremely well written. Just a shame it has taken so long to be written. Fans should now put the ' What Happened ' book firmly in the past where it belongs, this new publication is the true Sonny West that countless know and love.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2008
I read this book with trepidation - wondering how this offering would compare or differ from the ...What Happened reviews, scenarios and bad press - I could not put this book down - I laughed - I cried - I felt as if I was right there - this book is so real and for real - honest - and amazingly tender words from such a strong person like Sonny - This book tells us the story behind a wonderful relationship - his words burst with pride and yet are tinged with sadness - don't malign this man - hear his words and see Elvis as never before - Sonny - WELL DONE !!!!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Loved this book. Every opportunity I got I read this. Sonny tells his story so well. His memories of a man he very dearly loved is outstanding. I waited to read this and it was worth the wait.

God bless Elvis
God bless u Sonny xxx
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)