Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
27
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2012
I brought this book to inspire me into creating some portfolio peices to put together to get into a Graphic Design degree course.

It has 80 exercises to help you get the creative juices flowing.

Some of the activities are aimed at more experienced designers. However, you can improvise on some of the exercises if you lack certain skills as I do.

It's straight forward, also provides you with completed examples of the exercises to point you in the right direction.

From beginner to experienced designer wanting to brush up on how you work. I would recommend this book!

It looks nice, it reads well and the price makes it a bargain!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
Anytime I feel stuck with my work, or whenever I need to challenge my brain and get out of daily routine, this book is there, just like any best friend would be.

They way the challenges are structured and presented, the give you the opportunity to alter them, or make improvisations. Also, every challenge features solutions from various creatives that undertook them, as well as an introductory or background story for each activity.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I cannot praise this book enough. Especially if you are a teacher of art and design, or a student. this book will give you plenty of exercises to think through and do - or give your students. They are graded in terms of difficulty and intellectual challenge and are useful for any level of learning.
If you are an aspiring graphic designer, try some of these do them properly, record your workings in detail in a sketchbook (Your Lecturers and often your potential employers are often MUCH more interested in your process than the final product.) and you will end up with a worthy portfolio.
If you are a teacher of graphic design, each one of these projects is a gem and will save you time and angst in developing stuff from scratch. That not to say you have to copy; I use them more for inspiration (I teach design in a large SW college) but they will get the grey matter moving and to top it all the author has written a teacher's guide that you can find on his website. Brilliant and throughly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
This book was not what I was expecting at all, I was going to give it just one star but if you are a graphic design student (or teacher) it will probably be right up your street, hence 3 starts. I was looking for a book that covers the fundamentals of visual composition, balance, repetition, space, rule of thirds etc and exercises to put this knowledge into practice. Instead this book contains exercises such as creating a typeface, the effect of certain changes on a pamphlet, creating a greetings card and other similar exercises but very little theory that could be applied to art work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2012
This is a really great book! Very helpful in creating a portfolio. The challenges are interesting and stimulating (and on the top of the 80 from the book there are a few extras available online). The author gives some handy hints about staying creative, learning new skills and managing the time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
I bought this book to try and develop my skills ahead of applying for a Graphic Design degree, and it has done its job perfectly. The tasks are unique, creative and challenging... as well as a lot of fun! I can already see how my abilities are improving, after only completing a few challenges so far.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Every designer needs a push every now and again, sometimes we get in a design rut doing the same old same old and do not push ourselves enough to reach the next level.

This book challenges you to create new things and allows your imagination to roam free rather than being stifled by a client who has their own ideas and boundaries. This is like playtime but taken seriously can help you expand your ideas and push your designs. Some ideas are a little similar to other 30 day challenges found across the web but there is enough here to keep you active.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
I bought it as a gift for my boyfriend, as a Christmas present. He finds it really interesting and has become very enthusiastic with its work challenges that puts the readers in.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
This book contains exercises in the use of inspiration and intuition in a tightpacked day-to-day work schedule. It's primary goel is to achieve speed and fluency.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
The book was in great condition when I received it and it had plenty of ideas on how to get busy on new projects. A good idea for anyone who is trying to build a design portfolio. It covers many aspects of design, so it isn't limited. I'd definitely recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)