Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
18


on 10 April 2017
Great book great Artist Tom Fleming
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2010
Upon receiving this book I was pleasantly surprised to find that the early chapters span a bit more about anatomy basics than a lot of other contemporary books, so this was nice to find.

However, the anatomy within the covers is almost exclusively embodied by the main cover image, so all of them are of fashion model levels of beauty and quite scantily clad, with not much chance offered by this book for drawing anything but the stereotypes offered. I also noticed that the figures in the sample images mostly have their eyes closed, as if in some rapturous act of ... something. Though as the old adage states: sex sells. The images this book aims to help you produce are a lot better than something by Luis Royo's work Prohibited 2 for example, as they are very much less O.T.T, and a lot less pornographic. Though Royo's quality of art is always a standard above most, Tom Fleming achieves his own standard and look which are very nice and a lot more realistic to aspire to. I'd say that the art within is still quite acceptable to a wide audience, and the quality of illustrations throughout is very high, and the instruction offered is better than a swathe of books that are around presently.

So it's obvious that Tom Fleming likes a certain kind of 'fantasy' female, but if you want to learn about anatomy, and drawing/painting fictional women, and you want to create things of commercial standard as part of your eventual aims, then you can't go very far wrong picking up this book as a good accompanying step along the way, plus the basics are enough to buy this book for generally I feel.

All in all, it's a good reference book to have, though a bit limited in it's scope. If you're in college/high school studying art, then I'd recommend it.

The book covers anatomy, proportion, hair and costume, references, colour theory, different drawing techniques, though the artist doesn't use computers, so if you want to cover this book's contents using something like photoshop/painter, then I'd suggest learning from a different source, but keeping this book on hand as it's still very useful.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2010
Ther are five step by step projects in the book which are very helpful in giving beginners the confidence to draw and paint fantasy women. The book takes you through the basics of creating your own drawings and paintings from proportions to skin tones. It is packed with helpful tips and guidance.
I love Tom Fleming's work, his illustrations are beautiful and the book is full of his drawings and paintings. It's worth having the book just for the artwork, however, it's quite obvious that Tom Fleming's models are familliar with the "adult entertainment" world and the book is best not left on the coffee table for all to see.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2009
My interest in the book really stems from my dabbling with 3D software such as Poser. As this, as the title suggests, is aimed at drawing and painting it would seem to have little interest. However I found it a very good read, even the sections that were not my prime interst. It did offer some very good advice on Character building and the use of colours that I am sure will help improve my own 3D art works. At Amazon's price it it should be on the bookshelf of any budding Fantasy Artist.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 November 2009
Having worked for Marvel and DC there's probably very few modern artists who are more adept at the subject matter of the book than Tom Flemming. What perhaps makes this so superb is that Tom doesn't just tackle the basics such as shapes but covers everything from clothing to makeup, facial construction through to hair.

Within this offering is material gained through experience that explains the differing aspects not just by stating the facts but putting the information across almost as if you were in the same room as the artist backing up each point with concise and beautifully created artwork.

This title was a real joy to read and will be one that's well thumbed each time I want to revisit points brought up within. Hopefully allowing me to create not just acceptable art but pieces I'll be proud to have on my wall.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 October 2013
I should point out that I am not an artist but I am trying to use photography and Photoshop to create fantasy images, whilst learning Photshop techniques. I bought this book because I thought it might contain some ideas from professionals and I was not disappointed. The overall images are inspirational and the discussion on techniques and detail on certain aspects of them is very useful indeed. I doubt that I will ever be good enough to draw and paint to that level but it is a book that I will refer to in the future and I am glad that I bought it. The level of art work is superb and I find it difficult to believe what they have achieved. If you want inspiration then this is a good place to start.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2013
Bought this through casual interest as I've always been fascinated at how realistic fantasy art can be. This certainly gives good advise as to how basic shape & form is achieved. Has some nice colour plates of popular artworks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2011
What I most liked about this book is the way that it is sectioned out into chapters which teach a different aspect of drawing fantasy characters. It goes as far as to teach what colours are used to show, what clothing to choose and how to draw it, and how to convey emotions in facial expressions with a few simple steps. It is a bit fantasy females from more of a male perspective but they are based on imagination so people will draw what they personalIy like and what they think others will like so I really don't think that matters at all, because you learn the techniques and use the pictures as references and make it what you want personally. I like this book more than regular art books about how to draw anatomy because of the way its broken down and is made fun with colourful images which also help you to work on your own ideas. I think its well worth the money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2015
Very helpful. Good drawings and helpful advice. If your new to Drawing and it is Fantasy figures you wish to work in then this is a good starting point as it is well displayed and well written and easy to follow.
REMEMBER, Drawing is not a science!. Anyone can draw, you just need to follow the 3P's "Practice, Practice, Practice. If your first attempt is wrong then try, try and try again.
If you want it, you will get there. Good luck!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2013
Extremely impressed with the content of this book. Good for young and old artists alike, starters or more experienced. Plenty of designs to choose and practice from.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)