Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
18
4.1 out of 5 stars
Bold Visions: A Digital Painting Bible: The Digital Painting Bible
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 1 June 2013
I'm slowly getting into my digital art work, as I use to enjoy doing allot of art back in my school and college days. But the ideas and potential for what you can do in the digital art world now is just amazing. If you want inspiration or any possible ideas for good concept pieces, then you need to buy this book. It's a massive book and full of fantastic designs from various artists, and this includes examples as well as tutorials. Buy it, you'll love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
Gary Tonge is amazing! He is being a digital artist since 1987,way before Photoshop 'came out'.The book appeared to be extremly helpful for someone like me who was looking forward to learn some new tricks and techniques in Photoshop.The language is clear and easy to follow with even a basic knowledge of Photoshop.I would highly recommend it for my fellow Photoshop users who want to improve their skills. Gary Tonge is the guy to learn from!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2009
I was hoping to be introduced to the world of digital art, having been a traditional artist for more than twenty years, but that's not what you get. There's nothing useful about the tools that you couldn't glean from their names, there's no explanantion of things like "Gamma", or how colour curves work, or what different brushes are used for, or anything of real use to the newcomer. All you do get is example after example of work flow, and chapters on things like colour and light - useful if you've never lifted a paintbrush before, but nothing unique to digital art.

Gary Tonge is an excellent artist, no doubt there, but a teacher he isn't. I suggest trying another book.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
Clear, descriptive but concise and beautifully laid out. Explores perspective, light and shadow, layering and creating landscape and mood. Perhaps not the best resource if you are looking to create original characters but otherwise a beautiful and informative book that has certainly helped me. Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
very good content, worth the price, very handy for my partner as a uni student in game design. highly recommended by him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
A good beginners' guide from which to advance to more detailed books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2017
A decent book with some decent techniques.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
Very god book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse