Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 4 May 2010
I bought another Magic Lantern Guide for the this camera(Nikon D300s Multimedia Workshop)before this one and was most unimpressed, as all the information specific to the camera was on a DVD, which was tucked into the back pocket of a book and was merely a general purpose photography guide and nothing whatsoever to do with the D300s.

So this was a second chance and I was not disappointed this time. Simon Stafford has a reputation for comprehensive and different views on photographic equipment, so instead of a crib of the Nikon manual, it introduces many facets of the camera and its use which one would be unlikely to discover independently. The book can be read as a whole (it is interestingly written) or dipped into for specific information. It is printed on heavy paper and thus weighs a little too much for a light photo pack on a longish walk. My only other criticism is that there are numerous references in the text to a page on which further details may found. However, someone has forgotten to substitute the author's pre-layout page reference (e.g. xxx) with the actual post-design page number. Fortunately there is an adequate index and a pencil will soon rectify this omission, but it should not have happened.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2010
As a new purchaser of the Nikon D300S I was keen to buy a guide of this sort to help me understand how best to use my new camera. I was an experienced DSLR user but the D300S was a significant step up and I felt I needed some additional help.

On that basis alone the book has succeeded. Read in conjunction with the camera manual I now feel I am getting to grips with the camera and my photographic results are improving. One of the aspects of the book that I have particularly enjoyed is the personal hints and notes from the author. These provide invaluable information that is not covered in the camera manual and have helped enormously.

The book is also small enough to be carried round. Weight of kit is often a problem for photographers but I have made room for the book in my bag (for the moment at least). A handy quick reference wallet card is also provided.

The book is well laid out. The colour illustrations are well placed to allow you to read the text and see the menu screen shots. This makes it easy to sit with the book and experiment with the settings on your camera without having constantly to put one done whilst picking up the other.

One irritating negative is the sloppy editing which has resulted in numerous examples of "(see page XXX)". There really is no excuse for this and it does take the shine off what is an otherwise excellent publication.

Overall I can recommend this book. It provided exactly what I wanted and has helped me get to grips with a fairly complicated bit of kit.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2010
My previous experiences with Simon Stafford's guides have been very positive on the whole & now that they are appearing in full colour is a further bonus. This guide contains just the right amount of info on each topic & for beginners, Simon gives his recommendations & tips which will be of great value to beginners or those perhaps not familiar with the Nikon menu system. There are quite a few photos & screenshots to help illustrate points. So why not 5 stars? Well, whoever was responsible for proof-reading needs a slapped wrist because on a number of occasions,when the author gives a cross-reference, no page number is stated merely "see p xxx". So far I've noted about 8 of these which is rather annoying. If these had been amended prior to general release, I would have happily given out 5 stars but if you can live with these oversights, I would still recommend this book
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2013
A little almost pocket sized book which it is possible to keep in a large camera bag. If not there is a very useful pull out/fold up credit card size info sheet in the back with good details of how to access all the key settings of this camera which can be very useful in the field. The camera itself has a somewhat daunting menu system which this guide helps to make much more understandable. I think this will be a helpful book to anyone fortunate enough to own a D300s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2012
Simomn Stafford is a Nikon expert but also a real photographer. His books tell you how best to yse your camera and what fewatures to look out for and those also to avoid. Whilst that Nikon manual explains all the functions, it does not tell you what best to do with them. These bookd do! I have had them for all my Nikons over the years and are mandatory bedside reading!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2016
Great book. Well laid out and easy to read. Takes the the "out of focus" in D300s camera understanding and makes it "pin-point sharp".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 August 2013
I bought this book as my camera had not got a manual when I bought it,.
It's first class, Simon Stafford sure knows his stuff,
It's very easy to read, it even comes with some cheat card to put in your wallet to help you, nice !!!
So if you have a Nikon D300/300s without a manual get this book it's all you need,
Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2011
This book is very easy to read and give so much info that a mfr of nikon corporation could have done as we then have to go out and buy books on their equipment to understand them. at least it keeps us buying them and keeps us happy. but otherwise I am still getting through the well written book (1/2 way) as I only seem to get read it at bedtime... Leaving the daytime to get out to use my D300S.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2011
Don't buy your Nikon without its Magic Lantern Guide - all the camera's features revealed and explained. The first accessory you should get for your new camera - I've bought the guide for each Nikon camera I have owned as soon I have bought the camera - its so good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)