Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
8
4.0 out of 5 stars


on 23 November 2016
There are no page numbers in this paperback edition and the footnotes are very oddly distributed throughout the text. There were also random Chinese symbols/kanji in the text which I'm not sure were mean to be there. I imagine the lack of formatting is due to it being an Amazon published book, hencewhy so cheap. Did the job though, I read it and fine, good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2010
The author was a Japanese living in America, and writing in English before WW1 for an American and European audience. He was also a Christian convert. The intent was apparently to make the Japanese appear likeable to The West.

A strange book therefore, but worth reading if you are interested in the history of Japan's relations with The West.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
Really interesting and knowledgeable author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2009
having an interest for ancient warriors my attention went from the native americans to the samurai far from being bloodthirsty warriors the samurai were artists poets and well educated there code compared closely with our knights of old this code put on paper or by training how to live fight and die anybody with an interest in history should read this it may well change your perception of the ancient samurai warrior from the soul out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2004
Inazo Nitobe (1862-1933) was a Japanese author with a unique perspective; he was an educator and a Quaker. When queried about the basis of morality in Japan, he thought long and hard on the subject. His answer was that Bushido was the Soul of Japan, and from that idea flowed this book.
In this wonderful book, Mr. Nitobe explains Bushido to the Western observer. Using the Bible and other Western literature as examples of common points of reference, he explains 1) the origins and sources of Bushido, 2) its character and teachings, 3) its influence, and 4) its continuity and permanence.
So, if you are interested in Bushido in particular, or Japan in general, then I strongly recommend this book. Even though it was first published in 1905, it makes a wonderful introduction to the Western reader. I highly recommend this book!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2011
This book is written by a member of a samurai family and is quite in depth but don't be put off the first time, I had to read it twice! It does of course give you an insight in to the way of bushi culture and presents some good opinions though maybe not practicable in this century.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2009
Maybe I expected something different after reading a few books on Japanese culture and samurais, such as Book of Five Rings, but Bushido proved a tad tedious to read. Don't get me wrong, it's a complete and brilliant insight on traditional Japanese culture, focusing on Bushido, or the arts of war. But the author/researcher/doctor who wrote this just quotes too many european writers/philosophers and takes that tiny bit of pure japanese traditional taste out of the whole book. As a result, it just sounded a little pedantic for me and I quite expected a tiny bit more of humbleness from the author's part. Taking this small glitch into account, the book provides loads of information on traditional japanese culture, basically it describes the way Japanese behave in almost every situation, ritual or class. Not too bad although makes a bit of a tedious reading, mainly because of the author's style.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2000
After reading this book I now understand more about bushido, it is good if you want to know why the Samurai acted the way they did.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)