Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2012
I somehow expected this DVD to be a film which would illustrade the way to happiness by weaving the lives of the people on the cover together. Unfortunately this DVD was not a film which made its point through a story. This DVD used a format which reminded me of a Powerpoint presentation covering 25 points in bullet fashion that mankind should observe in order to gain access to the way to happiness. Had I known that the content of the DVD had been created in this way, I would not have bought it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
A gang of teenagers got out of hands in our neighbourhood recently. They were harrassing people, making a lot of noise and damaging property.
The police and local scientologists started spreading The Way To Happiness booklets and enlightened parents and kids about its tenets.
Half a year later: No more trouble in the neighbourhood with the teenagers. It was an incredible change that could not go unnoticed.
I highly recommend this book to parents who have teenage children, excellent tool in handling troublesome kids.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
The precepts in this book and DVD really are the way to Happiness! The DVD makes the book come alive and helps to understand the concepts better. There are a few which I now use standardly as my guidance and make a huge difference to my life. I'm sure more people have their favourites to work on :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
First thing. I am a Scientologist but I'll try make this as unbiased as possible! :)

This is a really simple book with some really simple and basic ideas. Some people would say it is too simple but for someone who has never been given a basic training in life then I guess the fact that you should eat healthy and not murder someone is important data! For the majority of us some of the datums are maybe redundant but I like the fact that the author has not taken that for granted.

Further on in the book the concepts given about work and respecting other people and their beliefs and treating others as you would like to be treated really changed my idea on how I live.. I am definitly not perfect and make mistakes in life but to have these precepts as a goal to strive towards has given me some purpose and reason for keeping at it.

I really like the last part of the book where he talks about the way to overcome haters is to basically just do really well in life. You can get too involved in their turmoil and hate and forget that you can actually live life well without them and the best way "to get revenge" is really just to do well in life.

Book is a wee bit short and expensive. Hope they can lower the price of do some sort of discount because I defitely think this is worth a read and could do some help for some people.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 1999
Combining some hardly-original commonsense advice with the unique spin which the controversial Mr Hubbard has consistently managed to impart to his Scientology writings, "The Way To Happiness" is another example of the output of one of the larger vanity publishing operations ever to have existed.
The book retreads many of the concepts introduced in "Dianetics: The Modern Science of Mental Health", by the same author, but this time Hubbard's unique and off-the-wall spiritual views (essentially: we are all infested with the souls of dead space aliens, who are responsible for our physical and mental problems) get to be leavened with a few traditional /bon mots/ and dressed up as self-help.
Much of what this book has to say will be self-evident to anyone who is in the market for books of this type, and it offers nothing new of any substance that might contribute to a broader understanding of the problems that people face in trying to find a "way to happiness". Many claims are made for what is essentially Dianetics, even if it is not always identified as such, yet these claims are presented without any substantiation, which leads one to question whether the advice this book contains has ever been tested and shown to be at all effective.
The prose style of this book is, in keeping with much of Hubbard's oeuvre, impenetrable, patronising and unnecessarily verbose, leading one to wonder whether anyone as clearly incapable of expressing his own thoughts has any business telling anyone else how to think.
There are many, many self-help books out there, some good, some bad: unless you are building a collection of the poorer examples, then spend your money on something other than this one.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2011
If you get ill, see a doctor! So much valuable information, also known as the bleeding obvious, now available to buy and fund a global pyramid scheme. Avoid. At. All. Costs.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
This is one of the best books ever written of this kind!!! I absolutely loved it and read it multiple times!!!! I'm more happier than ever thanks to this book!!! I recommend it to everyone no matter what age! Applying this precepts helps making good and sane decisions in life and gives stability and blows confusions and false data on this subjects. It's life changing and completely unique and applicable in anyone's life! I highly recommend it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
Principles which make sense -common sense approach to life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
Great book, helps a person lead a much improved and happier life.
Easy to read: simple ways to change your life for the better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2007
"True joy and happiness are valuable.

If one does not survive, no joy and no happiness are obtainable.

Trying to survive in a chaotic, dishonest and generally immoral society is difficult.

Any individual or group seeks to obtain from life what pleasure and freedom from pain that they can.

Your own survival can be threatened by the bad actions of others around you.

Your own happiness can be turned to tragedy and sorrow by the dishonesty and misconduct of others.

I am sure you can think of instances of this actually happening. Such wrongs reduce one's survival and impair one's happiness.

You are important to other people. You are listened to. You can influence others.

The happiness or unhappiness of others you could name is important to you.

Without too much trouble, using this book, you can help them survive and lead happier lives.

While no one can guarantee that anyone else can be happy, their chances of survival and happiness can be improved. And with theirs, yours will be.

IT IS IN YOUR POWER TO POINT THE WAY TO A LESS DANGEROUS AND HAPPIER LIFE

- L Ron Hubbard
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)