Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2016
I will start by saying this was an extremely intelligent read that doesn't skirt around the edges.

Starting that first few chapters, Wells doesn't hang about and throws us into the story. A time traveller who proves his work in small form (with lots of scientific language) and then manages to travel through time himself and return to tell his tale.

What I find interesting is that the whole time, the book is written as if you were someone listening to the time traveller. When the story of time kicks in, it is a constant conversation with no breaks. You find yourself reading it and becoming just as fascinated as the person in the story listening. This kept the book interesting and easy to follow. It was nice not to have any interruptions such as "the time traveler paused to take a sip of tea" (as a very bad, make believe example). Many books loose it's story in lines that are not necessary and are there to just fill the book.

Saying that, I would have liked more detail of the world he visited. Wells leaves much to the imagination but I'm not sure if he left too much.

I don't want to say too much about the main bulk of the novel to save from spoilers. I will say it was catchy, something was always happening and, you just wanted to keep going to see how he escaped back to his normal time.

A good book if your busy like I have been lately, (120 pages taking me a month to read, yikes!) as you can put it down for quite a while and when you start to read again, it's easy to remember where you left off.

All in all a good read, straight to the point but could have dressed up the descriptions a little more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
Having previously only read "War of the Worlds" by the same author, I found this novel to be better written. It's quite short so will take a day at most to finish. The story is engaging and with all sci-fi gives a sharp warning to humanity. A classic indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
Started reading some more classic literature recently and was very happy to get a free e-book copy of the time machine. It's not a long story but if you like sci-fi and other classics I highly recommend this story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2017
Can't believe I haven't read this before. Fascinating idea of foresight, especially given how long ago it was written. Short and easy to read. Children may enjoy it too, with an adult.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Ordered for dad but passed on to his granddaughter as it's a children's version which I didn't realise when I ordered it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
I loved this. None of the movies of this novel ever follow the real story line. The movies are, perhaps, more optimistic. Even though both movies are good; In the real book story, the Morlocks are not as formidable. The Eloi are even more impish and child like. Its a great read, so if anyone thinks they know the story from watching either movie; think again and read this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
The fact that this science fiction classic has hardly dated since it was written over 120 years ago, is testament to H. G. Wells' mastery of the English language and story telling prowess. This is a beautifully written novella, engaging, gripping and a real joy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Great idea to get kids interested in the classic book the illustration are amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
An excellent novel that follows the adventures of the "time traveller" who goes forward into the future to visit our future planet. What he describes is a startlingly accurate depiction of our current society: The socially decadent,yet banal insipid over worlders and underclassed, deprived and canabalistic underworld "Morlocks"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Love Wells. He was a real prophet, forecasting atomic power, aerial warfare and so on - unlike others from the past described as 'prophets' who never foresaw anything. Bit wordy for today's taste, though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here