Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
25
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2003
I bought this after reading Schiffman's 'Cold Calling Techniques (that really work)', which I can highly recommend.
I wasn't expecting much from '25 Sales Habits...' and it met my expectations. A good collection of tips that reinforced what I already knew. Buy it as a quick read (it's a small book of just over 100 pages) or a nice introduction to key ideas for a new salesperson.
For 'habits' that can really have a profound impact on your sales when practised consistently: it has to be Og Mandino's 'The Greatest Salesman in the World'.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2004
Noted sales trainer - and the head genius of cold calling - Stephan Schiffman succinctly describes 25 effective sales techniques. Each tip gets a short chapter with a nugget of advice, an example or two and a pat on the back to send you out the door charged up and ready to go. It doesn't matter if you've heard some of these common sense ideas before because Schiffman's compilation is so on-target, lively and encouraging. This little volume reminds you of leading sales techniques - or habits, as Schiffman calls them - that will build your customer base and increase your sales. If you're in the business of one on one product or service sales, this will boost your communications, planning, knowledge, rainmaking, visibility and confidence. Schiffman tells you to ask people what they do and help them do it better by selling into their priorities. Seems clear enough to us, given that the author doesn't only write - he also sells.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2003
Noted sales trainer — and the head genius of cold calling — Stephan Schiffman succinctly describes 25 effective sales techniques. Each tip gets a short chapter with a nugget of advice, an example or two and a pat on the back to send you out the door charged up and ready to go. It doesn’t matter if you’ve heard some of these common sense ideas before because Schiffman’s compilation is so on-target, lively and encouraging. This little volume reminds you of leading sales techniques — or habits, as Schiffman calls them — that will build your customer base and increase your sales. If you’re in the business of one on one product or service sales, this will boost your communications, planning, knowledge, rainmaking, visibility and confidence. Schiffman tells you to ask people what they do and help them do it better by selling into their priorities. Seems clear enough to us, given that the author doesn’t only write — he also sells.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 1999
Sales is a profession where motivation is essential. The biggest problem that professionals encounter is their own negativity. This book is inspirational. It reminds you to challenge yourself.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 1999
A beginners sales book which gives little value to the more experienced salesperson. Was expecting a more dramatic representation of what are the "habits" of the more successful salespersons. Unfortunately this book is somewhat dated and the title is "overselling" the substance of the book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2012
This books is an extremely light read, gets right to the point and does not waste time on any of the points with any fluff. This is my first book on salesmanship and Stephan has managed to show me what the epitome of a good salesman is, if you listen to the media or watch tv. salesman have a pretty bad name out there, the media has portrayed them as cynical snakes looking to make a quick buck. And I must say, that i agree with them for the most part, the typical salesman doesn't really care

But here is where Stephan shows you that it's not suppose to be like that at all. a good salesman has to truly care about his clients and when you truly care, then in effect you should really want to help your client or customer with whatever your selling. after reading this book, you will come to find out that many people in sales have seeminly not read any proper material on how to sell. i see bad salesman all over, at the market, Internet service provider sales reps, etc. thanks to Stephen i now know am able to see the vast ocean of terrible salespeople out there that could benefit from reading this book.

I however have one criticism, and that's that the book is geared towards a particular type of salesman. and not a "one size fits all" sort of thing. this seems to be a book aimed at salesman selling services to big companies or so it would seem. so maybe, the street vendor won't be able to reap much value from this. all in all, i think this is a good book to start from, glad i read it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
Even though I am not a salesperson, I purchased this book to gain a better understanding of them and also to separate the good from the bad ones. This book definitely helped me achieving that but I also came to the conclusion that there are lot of bad sales people out there, probably driven by the bad culture of the company they work for where the closure matters more than actually helping the client. I agree that sales people should act and think more like consultants. Things like “being punctual” should be obvious though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
only cost 72p. You get what you pay for.
A lot of obvious stuff quoted.
Some I disagree with.
And its all about repitition - apparently.

As a wedding photographer I wanted to perfom better infront of my potential clients at meetings. But this book was not for me - but not the books fault.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2016
Give it two stars, it is for sales people and helps you some tricks to deal with people in the outlets (maybe) and have to memorize and practice it to master it for people working in outlets. But not a book for management, or training (maybe 10%) or help you guide to write on sales or no good for students, I guess.
But I have to say that Stephan has put some work into and hope he come up with better books...
Cheers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2011
I really wanted to know, what makes the difference between a good sales person and a successful sales person. I think, these are good advices and I am sure, if we are able to make these 25+ tips as a habit we could be more effective in our selling activities.

Some of these tips are not directly related to selling, but focused on moulding the sales person to be effective in what he/she does.

A very good read and I recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)