Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2015
Brilliant for an introduction to star gazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
Bought this book on the strength of the reviews. My son found it boring no colour pictures, not easy to understand, Kids need something to get their attention. This book did not do it
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 18 November 2015
We mostly wanted this book as an activity book, and it serves that purpose very well. It is not in color and is not a "picture" book as such.

It certainly presents a lot of info about the night sky, the solar system, individual planets, and so on, but the underlying emphasis is to get kids thinking about "the universe" and the fact that there is a lot "there" out there. So, you get sections that just drive home the idea of big numbers and long distances, and what far-away means. You get gravity and what an orbit is. There's a little physics, some planetary science, some astronomy, some astrophysics - but that's all in the service of just getting a young scientist thinking about all of the wonders of "space".

There aren't many make-it-yourself projects. The activities are mostly in the form of puzzles, mazes, crosswords, and coded and encrypted phrases. that have to be deciphered. The book is printed on paper similar to elementary school workbook paper and puzzles can be solved by filling in blanks on the pages. (Some of the puzzles are tricky; answers are provided on the last few pages.) But don't get the idea that this is just a dry workbook. There are punchy asides, factoids and tidbits in the margins, helpful drawings, some silly drawings, and lots of illustrations of kids doing things. There are a fair number of jokes, some silly and some pretty sharp, but nothing is in that sappy "dummies" style.

The feeling is one of honest fun, with a bit of rah-rah, and a lot of energy. The activities are designed and intended to draw a kid reader into the subject matter, and the mix of play, puzzle and learning struck us as just right. A nice choice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2012
Really lovely book, good learning tool but fun added with the trivia sections. Exactly what I expected from the details given in the listing although a bit more colour in the book would have been nice. As it's quite a thick book it would have been nice to have a hardback. However all in all it was a good purchase for my 6 year old.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Has all sorts of handy little tips and fun facts about space. I actually bought this as a joke for my boyfriend to go with his telescope but turns out there's a heck of a lot in there that even I didn't know about space! Good for adults and kids! Great and cheap little gift
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
This was bought for a young child who loves to research the answers to questions about our world.This book provides fun and education in plenty. A great gift.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
I purchased this for a friends child and he is delighted with it. He loves doing projects and he has learned a great deal from this book. I would recommend this book for anyone who has an interest in astronomy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
The book looked like it would be bright and fun, but inside it was all words, very few pics, nothing bright and colourful like the cover suggests. Kids would have been bored with it so sent back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
Bought for my son for Christmas, he is very interested in astronomy and really enjoyed looking through this book. Lots of information in there for kids who have a good interest in the topic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
lots of lovely things to learn about. This was a present for a grandchild she loves it. Only thing is she is too young to stay up too late to explore the night sky but she likes the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse