Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 17 March 2016
Excellent and in depth biography of Martin Luther.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2016
Great book very readable and informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 May 2015
I am reviewing the 1950, Mentor Books Fifteenth Printing.
This book is well laid out. Much of the material is in lecture form. There are twenty-two content headings, 12 page Bibliography, References, Source of Illustrations, and comprehensive Index. The illustrations are just that monochrome sketches.

Roland H. Bainton received an A.B. degree from Whitman College, and B.D. and Ph.D. degrees form Yale University and form Oberlin College, Dr. Theological Seminary and from Oberlin College. He is a Specialist in Reformation history.

There are many biography and reference books on Martin Luther, each with its own strength s and weaknesses. This one by Roland H. Bainton is pretty comprehensive and goes into more depth than most. Do not get out your highlighter or you will highlight every page.

This is the story of a religious leader who is well known for leading the Protestant Reformation. "I cannot...I will not...Recant! Here I Stand."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2012
This book is very informative and an absolute joy to read. The author has left no stone unturned and does not try to fill pages with babble. However, i did find that "best bits" where within the first quarter of the book. After this Martin Luther has already done the diet of worms and stood his ground against his most vicious opposers. The rest is where Martin went from there. But don't let that put you off. This is, after all, a biography of the man, not just his famous debate.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2017
Wanted to read a biography of Martin Luther in this special year. This is an excellent book, just thought it went into too much detail at times.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2016
Excellent little book, not least for the wonderful illustrations - woodcuts / paintings from the period really give a sense of what the culture was like. Very readable and informative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2014
This biography depicts the charmed life that Martin Luther lived. He was the exception who broke with Rome and lived to tell the tale. And what a tale. And what a legacy. And that he eventually married and was father to some seven children. This publication is a must for anyone interested in the origins and spread of Protestantism. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 April 2005
I am reviewing the 1950, Mentor Books Fifteenth Printing.

This book is well laid out. Much of the material is in lecture form. There are twenty-two content headings, 12 page Bibliography, References, Source of Illustrations, and comprehensive Index. The illustrations are just that monochrome sketches.

Roland H. Bainton received an A.B. degree from Whitman College, and B.D. and Ph.D. degrees form Yale University and form Oberlin College, Dr. Theological Seminary and from Oberlin College. He is a Specialist in Reformation history.

There are many biography and reference books on Martin Luther, each with its own strength s and weaknesses. This one by Roland H. Bainton is pretty comprehensive and goes into more depth than most. Do not get out your highlighter or you will highlight every page.

This is the story of a religious leader who is well known for leading the Protestant Reformation. "I cannot...I will not...Recant! Here I Stand."
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2010
I think I probably read this book first 35 years ago, I have read it once more since then, I should probably read it again. It shows his battle for conversion and his fight with the established church, leading to the reformation. The best bit is when he marries a nun. It is the sort of book you can reread every ten years. I would highly recommend this book.

I enjoy, Christian biographies, they tell us that we are not alone, in our struggles, against our current culture.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 November 2006
I am reviewing the 1950, Mentor Books Fifteenth Printing.
This book is well laid out. Much of the material is in lecture form. There are twenty-two content headings, 12 page Bibliography, References, Source of Illustrations, and comprehensive Index. The illustrations are just that monochrome sketches.
Roland H. Bainton received an A.B. degree from Whitman College, and B.D. and Ph.D. degrees form Yale University and form Oberlin College, Dr. Theological Seminary and from Oberlin College. He is a Specialist in Reformation history.

There are many biography and reference books on Martin Luther, each with its own strength s and weaknesses. This one by Roland H. Bainton is pretty comprehensive and goes into more depth than most. Do not get out your highlighter or you will highlight every page.

This is the story of a religious leader who is well known for leading the Protestant Reformation. "I cannot...I will not...Recant! Here I Stand."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)