Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
15
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2010
In particularly, the second of London's short stories in 'The Road', 'Holding her down' captured me as he recounts the many different methods and techniques he would employ at each train station to avoid being 'ditched' by 'the shacks'. His wit, instinct and cunning is unarguable and the ideological success of living as a hobo is somewhat inspirational. The idea of surviving on 'the road' with as few provisions and possessions as possible has truly kindled and further inspired me in this collection of short stories. I read the whole thing in a day: i just couldn't put London down. I had previously read 'the call of the wild' and 'white fang', not forgetting other short stories such as 'batard' and 'moon face': these stories are strongly canine based however, they inspired my determination to live in the wild and when combined with these stories of living on the road, London is a truly inspirational character to me. I recommend this to anyone contemplating a picaresque existence.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
An account of Jack Londons time as a Hobo, travelling across America, hopping the freight trains being thrown off the freight trains, time spent in prison, almost freezing to death, learning to jump onto a moving wagon without losing your legs, meeting the pros who spend a lifetime doing this, learning the slang the do's and dont's, the comradeship and seeing America as he wanted to see it. Jack London was one of the first to live this life and write about it,a great read.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Not a story like "Call of the wild and White Fang", but tales of the authors experience of life on the road as a hobo in the States. I enjoyed it, full of colourful characters and adventures, and quite thought provoking.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
Although his tales of his spell as a hobo/tramp are good reading he seems to be deliberate not see his day to day struggle as political yet when he wrote about them he was a committed socialist and was a member of the socialist party of America. In the summery at the end his socialist convictions are hardly mention sham.john lee runcorn
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
The writing of London jumps out of the page at you he is truly a great literary artist with an amazing experience of life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
excellent typical jack london book love it.......never fails to entertain a book you can read over and over again .......
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
I found this a stunning read and a very clever piece of work. His description in this book of life on the road and of the worst excesses of human nature - the beating dished out by the gypsy king on his women, the cruel beatings administered by high ranking prisoners upon low ranking prisoners - are met with the apathy and resignation we would expect to see in someone at the bottom of society.

I think that this was written so that whatever conclusions you come to, it says something about you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
I have been trying to track this book down for a long time having read in my youth. Fascinating read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
Great adventures on the hobo road by Jack London, couldn't put the book down. Wish the story had been longer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
A book to be read a little at a time. Interesting more to men than women I feel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse