Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
10


on 25 March 2015
Its the first time I've read anything by Laird Barron and was pleased to find this book of stories very good. I was surprised to find he's rather like a modern H P Lovecraft (a horror writer I've always been fond of) and intend to try more of his books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2016
Item as described and arrived in good order
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2014
Comparisons to Lovecraft,although valid,are missing the point.Laird Barron has a style and vision all his own.The 'hard boiled' horror writer tag is doing him a great disservice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2015
Noir and fresh cosmic horror. All the Lovecraft and none of the 'social unpleasantness'. All of the Chandler and none of the petty crime. Here is True Detective and existential horror saved on a platter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2016
Unusual theme. You might need to re-read it a few times to get the essence of the story over to yourself. I liked it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2017
This is the second collection of Laird Barron that I have read. The first being Occultation, which I thoroughly enjoyed and was the reason why I picked up his first collection, The Imago Sequence.

I do feel that Occultation is the stronger of the two, which is why I have give this a 4* rating. I enjoyed reading all of the stories, but there were some weaker ones, which is always going to happen in a collection. But some of the stories such as Old Virginia and The Imago Sequence standout to me as the best ones in the collection.

Lairds ability to create a scene and make it so descriptive in a short story is a fantastic skill. It makes me feel that I am reading a novel rather than a short story at times.

There are some creepy parts in the collection that bring out Lairds strengths as a writer, and is the main reason why I read his works.

Overall, a really good read with some great stories packed with mystery and horror.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2013
'The Imago Sequence' is Laird Barron's first collection of short stories. It appeared in 2007, and collects stories published in magazines from 2001 onwards.

Barron works here broadly within the Lovecraftian tradition of cosmic horror, but he has also been influenced by modern noir and crime writing. His imaginative world juxtaposes the modern urban America of electronics and drugs and casual sex with the more ancient rural and wilderness America that underlies the urban veneer. Beyond lies the indifferent Darwinian universe whose less comfortable possibilities Lovecraft was one of the first to explore.

Nonetheless, Barron has a distinctive voice and a personal style, and is not content simply to retread Lovecraft's themes in King's language. The stories here are impressively even in quality and varied in range. The best of them - 'Procession of the Black Sloth', for example - contrive to be disquieting without being over-explicit: though Barron can spill blood with the best of them, too.

Firmly recommended to anybody interested in contemporary horror, as is its successor volume, 'Occultation'.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Laird Barron is one of the best new horror and dark fantasy authors. He's a gifted writer whose stories are macabre and fascinating entertainment for horror readers. He writes modern weird fiction and he does it well - each story in The Imago Sequence and Other Stories is grade-A material.

The Imago Sequence and Other Stories contains nine excellent and different kind of short stories. These stories are well written and fascinating horror stories.

This collection contains the following nine stories (the limited edition contains an additional short story, Hour of the Cyclops):
- Old Virginia
- Shiva, Open Your Eye
- Procession of the Black Sloth
- Bulldozer
- Proboscis
- Hallucigenia
- Parallax
- The Royal Zoo Is Closed
- The Imago Sequence

This collection starts with the sinister "Old Virginia" and ends with the fantastic "The Imago Sequence". All the stories are masterpieces of horror literature. It's almost impossible to choose the best stories, but each story is good (I liked "Old Virginia", "Procession of the Black Sloth", "Proboscis", "Bulldoder" and "The Imago Sequence" very much).

What I like most about Laird Barron is that he writes quality stories. Some writers reveal everything in the beginning of the story, but not Laird Barron. He doesn't make things easy for the reader, but trusts that his readers have enough patience to read the whole story. I also like the way he writes about the characters.

Laird Barron's prose reminds me of such writers as H. P. Lovecraft, Julius Shepard and Clive Barker. His prose is modern and sharp, but it's also lavish. For example, the title story ("The Imago Sequence") demonstrates how easily Laird Barron writes good horror prose.

After reading both collections (The Imago Sequence and Other Stories and Occultation and Other Stories) I can say that Laird Barron has become one of my favourite authors. I've always been fond of this kind of horror literature, so it's great that there are writers like Laird Barron, who continue to amaze readers with their dark stories.

If you're a dark fantasy or horror fan, please, do yourself a favour and buy The Imago Sequence and Other Stories and also Occultation and Other Stories. If you like weird fiction and cosmic horror, you must read these collections. Both collections are essential reading for horror fans.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2013
Excellent debut collection of original weird horror stories. The book requires concentration and patience. Pay it that respect and you will enjoy it all the more. The stories contained in this collection are intelligent, haunting and in parts, chilling. Personally, I recommend this book as a must have.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse