Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Handmade Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Pre-order now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 February 2012
This book is a perfect book to get you started in the world of (Ethical)hacking and Pentesting.
It covers the following four step:

-Reconnisance
-Scanning
-Exploitation
-Maintaining access

Each chapter is explained to a good extend providing tools and examples to get started.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
This book is absolutely fantastic for beginners. The first parts you read the author gives you a little introduction as to what hacking is and the ethics of hacking and sums up 'White Hats' and 'Black Hats' quite nicely. Surprisingly this book isn't too technical and is VERY easy to follow and understand.

There is a lot of times during the book that the author says 'But this is out of the scope of the book'. Don't knock that though, this is a beginners guide after all. Will you be an expert after reading this book? Hell no! But will you know some of the basics? YES! I personally think that this book will give you a 'feel' for pentesting, making you decide whether you would like to take it further. It is highly advised that you research some of the stuff that is mentioned in this book. Plus, practising how to research efficiently will help you out in your career as a Ethical Hacker.

After reading this book I have now gone on to read more advanced books, and will be studying for the OSCP cert this summer. This book is a must have for anybody wanting to know the basics of hacking.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
I've always been good with computer, enjoyed tinkering with them. Roughly two years ago I became a first line support technician, but was becoming more and more curious with potential threats. Needless to say after reading some articles online I was drawn into the subject & purchased this book. It is a great introduction to some of the basics of hacking & would recommend it to anyone. There's even TV/movie references to help you understand certain items.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Great fun introduction to a very serious subject. Readers should be aware that this is very much a "toe in the water" taster, if you will excuse the mixed metaphors. I think that a good deal of previous and further reading should be undertaken before diving in too deeply.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
If you are looking to explore the world of ethical hacking then this should be the first book you read, I found it good at helping me get to grips with each stage of the tutorial and has even communicated with the author via Twitter who helped me with a part I didn't understand.

Great book and very helpful author!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
This is an essential read if you want to know the basics of ethical hacking. It guides you from the very start and makes It very easy to read. I have bought this book to help me get through 3rd year in university and so far so good.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
First off, this is a very good quality and well written book, especially for a beginner. It does a excellent job at hammering home the importance of recon and a logical methodology. It covers a good selection of tools and their usage, although it glosses over some of them a little too much.

There are a few things stopping a five star rating for me: the section on setting up a testing lab is very small and does not go into detail, when this will be an important first step for many people.
There are several occurrences of 'this is out of the scope of this book'. Many are justified, but some felt like a little bit of explanation would not go awry.
Another very big problem: the author fails to mention that you can choose the GNOME or KDE version of Backtrack. This is very important, as the layout is quite different and would confuse a beginner to linux. Backtrack Release 3 also has some more slight differences in layout and the locations of several tools has changed. This is not a problem though, as the book is as up to date as the release at the time was.

Overall I'd recommend this book for the absolute beginner and could be useful for someone lacking a structured methodology as a lot of time is given over to explaining the information gathering step. For anyone with a bit more experience, you might want to choose something a bit more substantial as this tries to cover a lot of tools and stages of a pentest in a small book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
The book arrived on time and perfect conditions, the author is very clear when explaining things and gives a clearly idea of the big picture of penetration testing, great book for beginners
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
I've been playing around with the tools described in this book for years, but now that I'm getting serious about going further in security, Patrick's book has given me a good methodology to do so.

Probably too basic for those with any professional experience in pentesting, those new to the field will find it a good adjunct to their study guides adn generally a good way to get organized.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Really good book that tells you all you need to know to get started in hacking and penetration testing. It is a really great subject and really interesting to learn about how it all works and links in together. Its a good book to help you see the bigger picture.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse