Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
49
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 February 2006
Two artists have come to live in Lochdubh, first Effie Garrard, then genial Jock Fleming. Effie develops a crush on Jock, but he does not return her feelings. Then Effie is found dead, apparently by suicide, but Hamish suspects foul play. As usual, as well as solving the murder, Hamish has to struggle with his complicated love life, various women from his past keep popping up, and a few new ones as well.
This was quite an entertaining story, but it seemed a bit tired to me. The attractive man who arrives to create havoc in the village is a line that has been used before, and there are far too many lovesick women in the book, all of them rather pathetic, I found them getting on my nerves.
Worth reading if you are a Macbeth fan, but definitely not one of the best of the series.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2012
Hamish MacBeth books may not set the literary world alight but they are easy, quick books to read - ideal when you are busy or have problems on your mind. I personally like the Hamish character very much - and - unlike more 'high brow' who dun its - I think these books actually challenge you far more to pit your wits and work out who did indeed do it - there are so many wonderful twists and turns. Sadly on this occasion I was wrong! I find Hamish's love life most amusing and only hope he doesn't settle down because I have to say its been the 'death' of a number of other detectives. Once saddled with a wife they seem to get exceptionally boring!!! I have logged on now to buy the next in the series to take on holiday with me. I am a bit tempted to read the early Hamish MacBeth books but at the moment I am steeling myself to only go onwards.....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 January 2014
This is no different from any other book in the series. Hamish investigates a murder - in this case that of a fantasist who made up an engagement and pregnancy - and solves it, aided or hindered by the villagers of Lochdubh. There are not as many subplots in this one so it is an easier read in terms of keeping up with the characters and the humour is as sly as ever. All in all an easy fun read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
Hamish Macbeth solves another murder. Through his intuition, Hamish again manages to sort out who committed the murders with a little help from an old flame. I wish he would get together with Elspeth so they can solve murders together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
Written in M C Beaton`s usual style with little twists and turns in the plot.Death of a Bore is easy to read and highly entertaining. Would recommend it to any lovers of Hamish Macbeth! Pr5ompt delivery and exactly as the seller described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
Book 21
Occasionally, the rugged landscape of Scotland attracts dreamers who move north, wrapped in fantasies of enjoying the simple life. They usually don+t last, defeated by the climate or by inhospitable locals. But it looks as if Effie Garrand has come to stay. When local constable Hamish Macbeth calls on her, he is amazed to find the small woman still in residence after a particularly hideous winter. Unfortunately, Effie is also quite delusional, having convinced herself-and everyone else-that local artist Jock Fleming is in love with her, and that they are engaged. After a huge fight with Jock, Effie is found in the mountains, poisoned by hemlock. Now, it+s up to Hamish Macbeth to find the dreamer+s killer-before any more nightmares unfold.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is book twenty two in a delightful series of cozy mysteries featuring Constable Hamish Macbeth, a red-headed highlander responsible for law and order in the town of Lochdubh and its environs in Northern Scotland. As clueless as he appears to be about the opposite sex, when it comes to crime detection, Hamish is pretty astute. So, when village newcomer Effie Garrard is found dead, Hamish thinks it murder, even though his boss believes it to be suicide.

Like a dog with a bone, Hamish pokes around, trying to resolve her death to his satisfaction. While doing so, yet another murder occurs, leaving Hamish with his hands full, as it seems that there is any number of people with something to hide. Moreover, Hamish believes the two murders to be connected. So, he definitely has his work cut out for him.

The book is laced with sly humor throughout that is engaging, and the dialogue creates a feeling of authenticity of place, making the book highly enjoyable. One does not read these books for their literary value. One reads them purely for the fun of it.

As with all cozy mysteries, it is not so much the mystery that is of import but the characters that revolve around the mystery, and the characters are certainly quirky and entertaining, adding to the charm of the series. With the oddly endearing Hamish Macbeth, the author has created a character that is a winner. I love this series of cozy mysteries!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Effie Garrard - an artist - comes to live in Lochdubh and sells the pots and paintings she produces in local outlets. Her life is peaceful until the arrival of another artist - Jock Fleming - and his agent Betty Barnard closely followed by Jock's ex-wife, Dora. Hamish Macbeth, village policeman, is befriended by Betty and everything seems fine until Effie is found dead on a hillside. Blair - Hamish's superior - and his colleagues quickly decide it is suicide but Hamish is not so sure.

Everyone has secrets which they want to keep to themselves and trying to uncover the truth keeps Hamish fully occupied. This book has all the hallmarks of the Hamish Macbeth series - Hamish's knowledge of human nature and of his neighbours; Blair's antagonism and Hamish's continual pining for his lost love Priscilla - which does not stop him enjoying himself in the company of other ladies including Elspeth, the journalist.

This is an enjoyable read for anyone who likes their crime novels to provide a puzzle for them to solve. There is also very little violence or bad language and some interesting and eccentric characters to enjoy. A crime novel in the classic mould.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 August 2011
I've read - or tried to read - most of the Hamish Macbeth series and I enjoyed this episode in the saga even more than usual.

The dreamer of the title is an artist who moves into an isolated cottage near Lochdubh and starts to supply local gift shops with her paintings and objets d'art. Perhaps delusionist is a better term for her, as she quickly becomes besotted with another visiting painter who plainly does not return her affections.

M.C. Beaton clearly has her finger on the pulse of Highlands society as she is able to capture the tensions of rural life there, in this case the impact of the burgeoning tourist industry, perfectly and her wry sense of humour is, as always, on display. I particularly liked the subtle clues on offer here, as a set of hardening paintbrushes suggests the peace-loving artist is not all that she seems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
Wonderful can't put a Beaton down once I've started. Pure escapism like Enid Blighton for grown ups. You develop a fondness for her regular cast of characters. Which adds to the enjoyment of reading her books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse