Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 13 March 2015
Having made a study of the writings about General George S Patton Jr over many years,I approached this book,which deals head on with the long rumoured question of whether Patton really was assassinated,with some skepticism and doubt.
Patton was the toughest,most successful fighting general on the Allied side in World War Two,much feared by the Germans, and known to be highly critical of the Wests Political and Military leadership,which he saw as misguided,timid and mediocre.He foresaw the onset of the Cold War because of the West's failure to deal with Stalin firmly,and at wars end,totally disillusioned,he intended to resign his commission and tell the world the truth about the Leadership's shortcomings,which had prolonged the war and cost many more thousands of lives.Given his status,and decision to"break ranks",the scene was set for an assassination,supported by the Allies and Russians alike,to keep him quiet. The rationale is compelling,it IS possible that he was silenced,and the shameful revelations in this book need to be read by all those interested in the probable truth
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
When I was just 4 years old I heard General Patton speak at the Hamilton, Massachusetts athletic field (my family lived in nearby Wenham). My mother told me later that he had died in an automobile accident. This book gives the shocking background about his death - and is very conviencing! Amazing that the truth came out!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2009
great book if proved true how could they do this to the greatest general of ww2 the best
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I looked forward to reading this book immensely, and I was not disappointed. I also highly recommend to read the following "CENSORED" books:

1) "THE HOAX OF THE TWENTIETH CENTURY" by Arthur R. Butz.

2) "NOT GUILTY AT NUREMBERG" by Carlos W. Porter.

3) "FLASH POINT - Kristallnacht 1938. Instigators, victims and beneficiaries" by Ingrid Weckert.

4) "TREBLINKA - Extermination Camp or Transit Camp?" by Carlo Mattogno & Jürgen Graf.

5) "AUSCHWITZ: The First Gassing" by Carlo Mattogno.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2009
The truth of Patton's death may never be admitted, but he was the best General the Allies had. He was a far better soldier than Eisenhower, Bradley or Montgomery, who in my opinion added six to twelve months on to the second world war with their blundering decision making. A great read and what a story if true.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
Interesting.well written. Very specific subject . Another fact that confirms USA are a disgusting country, politically speaking, to say the list presidents gangsters since FDR,Ike ,overall LBJ and so on and then I discovered Kennedy brothers killed Marilyn Monroe ( the assassination of marilyn Monroe by Donald Wolfe)........
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
Everyone interested in the history of WWII and in particular the life and death of General Patton should pick up this book and read it. I have for years pushed back on any notion that contradicted that his death was anything else than as a result of a car crash and consequent injuries. Not anymore.

I am not saying this book has all the answers - sure it has not -but the author brings up a lot of very convincing arguments based on his interviews and documents he was able to unearth from different sources. There is no doubt in my mind there are multiple motives by the many enemies Patton created throughout his career and in particular the last 3 years of the war and the months following to give certain people or organisations reasons to get rid of the man. Also it was the most opportune time to get rid of him. He had served his purpose in a spectacular way, driving his Third Army through France, Belgium , Luxembourg, Germany, Austria and all the way to the gates of Prague. Now that the war was over, much to his own chagrin, he became a thorn in the side of the Russians but also of his own superiors. He became a liability for the people with political agendas and ambitions. The readers can fill in the names here.

Not only does the author bring up a lot of interesting aspects surrounding General Patton’s accident and death but he also spends a good portion of the book describing the influences the Russians had in the American political spectrum all the way to the very top. This makes for very disturbing reading.

There are still a lot of avenues left open for investigation, but this book provides a good starting point and I hope that not only the author, but other investigators / journalists will keep prodding and find a way to force the proper authorities to reopen the investigation. There are just too many loose ends, investigative reports that have gone missing, no autopsy performed, etc. Maybe it was easier in those days to keep the public in the dark but in this day and age we should stand up and question if something doesn’t sound right. And certainly the official statement, explaining Patton’s death does not sound right to me.

Great book!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 January 2011
"No one can prove beyond a reasonable doubt that General Patton was assassinated - at least not currently with the evidence now available. Perhaps no one will ever be able to prove it ..." - Author Robert Wilcox in TARGET: PATTON

Despite the observation quoted above, Wilcox, in TARGET: PATTON, makes a valiant effort to convince the reader to accept on faith the reality of General George Patton's presumed assassination. In doing so, the author leaves no stone unturned to uncover every bit of circumstantial evidence supported by supposition, hearsay, conjecture, extrapolation, loaded rhetorical questions, and gut feeling as well as a sprinkling of thought-provoking factoids gleaned from record research and interviews. And, conveniently, the conspiratorial flavor of the whole affair is buttressed by the complete disappearance of so many official records of the events chronicled.

While the narrative includes the circumstances of the road accident involving Patton on December 9, 1945 and his subsequent hospitalization and death on December 21, the core of the book is comprised of the background WWII careers of and testimonies from ex-OSS assassin, Douglas Bazata, and ex-CIC (Counter Intelligence Corps) agent, Stephen Skubnik. Through them, Wilcox endeavors to infer that Patton's death was a joint OSS-NKVD venture.

For me, the most interesting chapters of the book were those explaining why both the American and Soviet political and military hierarchies would've wanted the general dead after the German surrender. These chapters are more fact-based. Whether one admires or deplores Patton, it cannot be argued that he wasn't a political loose cannon from Washington's perspective and a dangerous military threat from Moscow's.

It also came as a revelation to me, if the author can be believed, the extent to which FDR's government was riddled with communist sympathizers and NKVD spies as revealed by documents declassified as late as 1995 regarding the wartime Venona code-breaking project which allowed the U.S. to read Russian diplomatic messages.

TARGET:PATTON comes across as an interesting, but not riveting, exercise in speculation. The reader's reaction - one which the author might find gratifying - may very well be the same as that expressed by Patton's nephew and FBI agent Fred Ayer, Jr. immediately upon hearing the news of the accident while he himself was stationed in France:

"Accident hell. It was murder. Those communist sons of bitches killed him."

In the end, though, I had to ask myself if Patton's hypothesized murder by a grand conspiracy is, at this late date, worth getting worked-up over. My answer is "no."
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
excellent service...the book really tries to unravel the conspiracy theory. The author has done a brilliant job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)