Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 November 2016
The collection isn't as good as his novel, "Galveston", but that's to be expected. These are his earliest published works. Keep that in mind and you can wash over their shortcomings.

Overall, they're hit and miss. But the hits shine. '1987, The Races' is a modern classic: a textbook example of how to write a short story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
Having loved True Detective series 1, I was curious to read more of the writer. The preview's first short story was very good so made me buy the book. The first short story turned out to be the only one of that quality. The rest is ok, but feels a bit bland and immature writing-wise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
I was familiar with the author's work only through True Detective, but I was looking for a book of short stories, and this cropped up in the recommendations. I'm happy that it did. Such a variety of tales spread over many disparate subjecys could not have been easy to write, but was an easy pleasure to read. From the beautiful, to the grotesque. I loved it, and would recommend it to anyone without hesitation. Ten out of ten.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
The author of the compelling True Detectives cut his teeth on short stories, and this is his first published book. While not as dark as that slice of noir (his first novel, Galveston from 2010 IS), this volume features compelling stories, beautifully wrought by a writer of some accomplishment. This volume contains a prize winning story from the Atlantic Monthly (the title story), a fascinating tale of a washed up football coach and one of his now grown students on a mission to rescue the coach's daughter from a life appearing in hard core porn. It is told in simple, elegant prose, and is moving and insightful.

The collection kicks off with a tale of a base-jumping park ranger who is joined by a young girl who also wishes to soar above St. Louis. Love grounds him, forcing him to realise the danger of his hobby. It ends with a wonderful tale, set in the 1920's, of a stained glass artist who becomes the love interest of a visiting English girl in mourning over the loss of her unnamed husband in the First World War. All of the stories are interesting, and some have the now familiar mystic flavour of True Detective.

Pizzolatto is a name to watch - at once literary, but as we have seen in Galveston and True Detective, a talent for pulp, or at least noir subject matter. I have added him to my list.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Iliked the true detective and these stories are also well written with a definite sense of time and place
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2016
If you loved True Detective (Season 1) you will definitely enjoy Pizzolatto's earlier writing too, with many of the show's trademark themes and atmosphere already present in his earlier works!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
Quite simply the best collection of short stories I have ever read. Every single story is a masterpiece, beautifully written and mesmerising.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2015
Short stories about longings. Beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here