Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2013
This is a really lovely book, and contains patterns ranging from average to advanced knits. Patterns consist of: 2 scarves, 3 mittens, 2 socks, 3 hats, 1 child's hat and matching sweater, a pair of slippers, an open cardigan, a warm cape, a baby blanket, a flower cushion, a knitted doll and a really cute, shabby-chic hen doorstop (which I think would also make a fab tea cosy, unstuffed.)

There are some great Fairisle patterns to get your teeth into, as well as simpler patterns for those starting out with intarsia / colour-changing such as the slippers which have just a single snowflake on the side - gorgeous. Lace knitting is also used gorgeously in one-colour designs. She looks a little complicated, with lots of colours and detail, but I'm dying to knit the Amelli doll who is based on the folk costumes of Estonia.

The yarns used are all amazing traditional yarns from Iceland, Denmark, the Faroe Islands etc (with a little history about each at the back), so may require some hunting down - addresses and websites are given - or substituting yarns, but should be fairly straightforward and definitely worth the effort. Lots of colour pictures and clear instructions make this book good to work from.

All in all, these are exciting, fresh and innovative patterns to relish while making and treasure forever after.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
I like it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Beautiful and interesting designs based on traditional knitting patterns. Mostly small items such as gloves, hats and socks. The chicken doorstop is a stand out design and would make a great addition to a retro themed home. I gave this book four stars instead of five, because most of the yarns used are not widely available, being from the individual Nordic countries. However, the exception to this is Jamieson and Smith (Shetland Isles) whose web site I have used many times to order wool. The author does not suggest any substitution for the Nordic yarns, so I guess you would have to take account of the needle size and number of stitches and hope for the best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
Some of the abbreviations not what used to but can look up on you tube. Took quite a while to be delivered, had the wool all ready so was quite frustrating to wait and went off the boil in the mean time... but some interesting projects in there!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Lovely selection of gifts to knit. Patterns are clearly laid out, and charts look easy to follow. Looking forward to knitting from this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
I love lucinda Guy's style of designing. She is able to make garments which are elegant and very easy to knit. Lovely patterns in this book and very inspiring. I already have few in mind to do.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
Lovely book full of great ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
Great knitting book good ideas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2016
Beautiful as new or new book well wrapped nicely posted. not expensive
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse