Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
76
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2011
A very beginner would find this book daunting but for some one with more experience it is a welcome change. Just remember that as with most U.S. publications in this field the crochet terms are slightly different to U.K. Projects vary from a quick -to -make scarf using this technique to a blanket. Photos for the unusual stitches are clear & the rest of the instructions are in the traditional written format. It would have been nice to have U.K. yarn alternatives listed but this so rarely happens that after some thought this can be solved. A worthwhile use of my Amazon gift vouchers & I would have bought this anyhow.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
Always on the lookout for new techniques I saw this book and loved the pic on the front cover. So before buying the book I did a search to see if I could find any video tutorials on how to do it. There were a few out there that I tried to follow but the work didn't look right. That made my mind up to get the book, I only waited a day for delivery and couldn't wait to get started. The instructions for the basic pattern were so easy and much clearer than any video I watched. Nice clear illustrations making it so easy to follow. The sample that I started grew very quickly and looked so neat. I made a cushion with the sample, and considering I had only just learned how to do Bavarian crochet, it was made in a couple of nights in front of the tv!
The patterns included are things that I would make, I particularly loved the handbag and shawl.
I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to learn new crochet techniques.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2011
I found the book most useful after thinking about buying it for a long time I decided to take the plunge as it is so very different and I can use the patterns with my home-spun wool.
The patterns are clear and well explained and there are plenty of pictures to help along the way. It is a very informative book,. I would recommend this book to someone who has some crochet experience, not for the complete beginner.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2011
Very pleasing book to look at, with some pretty patterns, and an interesting alternative way of doing crochet. I would say that the method is more suitable for shawls, blankets, bags, scarves rather than sweaters or waistcoats.

There seems to be a glitch in the information given for the waistcoat - A Little Bit of Lovely, on page 18 - for finished sizes all it says is 'Small, Medium, Large', no centimetres or inches given, unlike the all the other eight patterns within the book. Nevertheless, a good book to have.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2011
I loved learning how to do Bavarian crochet and I made my yorkies little coats and an afghan throw for myself. I found it amazingly easy to do and enjoyed using lots of colours. I really wished there were more patterns in the book other than just flat items, as once I had mastered the stitch I wanted something a little more challenging like hats ot jackets etc. But all in all a great book.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2011
My wife is a crafter and Crochet is among the crafts she already does but this book she reckons is "Magic". It takes chrocheting to a new level and is easy to follow.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
Very clearly written, perfectly understandable even if you are a novice.
The patterns inside are concise, easy to follow and pleanty of scop to do your owm
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
Excellent pattern book. I did have a bit of trouble initially following the instructions as I have not done Bavarian crochet before but once I got the hang of it, it is very easy to do. I have made a couple of throws and adapted the basic pattern slightly to make cushion covers. I am very pleased with the way this crochet makes up and will be trying several more of the suggestions.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
Buy this book it's well worth the money, learn to crochet the most beautiful stitch ever, if you ever want to be the talk of the crochet circle.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 21 January 2011
Clear illustrated instructions are given for Bavarian crochet plus 9 projects to perfect your technique. The projects are mainly accessories and shawls plus a table runner, baby blanket and basket. An interesting and effective technique, well-photographed. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)