Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

  • Jam
  • Customer reviews



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2017
The end of the world by man-eating jam, strawberry scented death. Follow a crazy bunch of people trying to survive the apocalypse. Yahzee brings out all of his well-known cynicism and annoyance at the idiots of society to paint a bleak but maniacal look at how civilisation would play out. A fun book that you never really know what is coming next but shows the mental strain and changes that may take place. If you don't like drop endings though this may not be for you. You will be left wanting just that little bit more. I loved the references to Mogworld with some shameless self-plugging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
Jam is an excellent comedy by Yahtzee Croshaw, and I definitely recommend it.

However, I will say that I believe the last two chapters (including the epilogue) were disappointing, and it left some threads hanging that were completely ignored in the epilogue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
A great book that had me laughing from the start. Loved the characters and incredibly unique story.
Gives me a chance to indulge in Yahtzee's brilliant comedy without Zero punctuation, internet access, and on public transport.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
I bought Yahtzee's previous book in audio form, and loved it. Jam is just as good, if not better, including characters from the previous book in a modern day setting with an amazing story-line and hilarious plot. I loved every minute of it.

Delivery was swift and the condition of the book was perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
Another excellent book by a brilliant author. Full of top-notch humor (milkshake eating spiders) and black comedy.
I would definitely recommend this to anybody looking for a light-humored read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
Its not a direct sequel to his previous book Mogworld as far as I know( a book I love to bits), but Yahtzee definitely has a recognisable style of writing now which is absolutely wonderful to read through, acknowledging and bucking cliches in equal measure in his writing. Definitely looking forward to more books from the guy in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2017
If you like Yahtzee's Zero Punctuation videos or his previous book Mogworld you will most likely enjoy this book. He has a unique writing style and while it's not particular sophisticated, it's an easy-to-digest page turner with humourous characters and situations. It's not as explicitly related to video games like Mogworld was but there is clearly a lot borrowed from/paid homage to many post-apocalyptic games and movies. Though clearly ridiculous, Yahtzee does a really good job of making the man-eating Jam a properly frightening and all-pervading threat.

The main thing I'd have to fault would be that many of the characters are quite one-dimensional and forgettable. They mostly have one personality trait that defines them and it's not just the side-characters - even the main character Travis is pretty forgettable overall. Despite this weakness, the overly ridiculous situations they all find themselves in makes it worth a read I'd say.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
This was a present for my grandson and as it was in his wish list I am sure he will be pleased with it.I have not spoken to him to see if he has started reading it yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
'Jam' reads like an hilarious cross between a zombie apocalypse story, The Blob and a slacker comedy. If you've ever read or watched any of Ben Croshaws internet material or his first novel 'Mogworld' you know what to expect. Black humour and an atmosphere of cynicism that hangs in the air like a toxic vapor. Fortunately it all works really really well (for the most part). This book is funny, has likable (or very deliberately annoying) characters, insane cults of bag wearing hipsters and obviously the whole 'death of the world by strawberry jam' thing. If you've ever enjoyed books like 'Red Dwarf' or 'The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy' then this will be right up your ally.

Unfortunately it isn't all perfect. I was ready to give this a full five stars right up until the very ending. The last few chapters manage to solve a couple of plot threads that didn't really need answering, but leave a few you would like to see closure on dangling. The pace also becomes a bit too frantic, the lead monster gets to re-appear with no good reason, and the tired old 'Eeeeeevil Americans' plot gets dragged out (some of the logic is also a little questionable). Its not nearly enough to ruin the book, but it leaves it a little bit flat.

Still this is a solid book, you'll have a blast reading it and it has a ton of funny moments and memorable characters. Hopefully Croshaws next book will be earn the full five stars this one was close to getting.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here