Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8

on 19 April 2013
This is a difficult but fascinating book if you are at all interested in the food supply and the future of the human race! Difficult because it is hard to accept that an organisation such as Monsanto could stoop to the depths of sheer immorality that they evidently have. Following deliberate policies, they have ruined the lives of countless small farmers in India and South America, tied others into a cycle of increasing expenses and diminishing returns and wrecked the careers of distinguished scientists who have had the bravery to oppose them.

Meticulously researched over a number of years, the book helps you to understand how GMO's are developed (if you think it is merely an extension of established cross-breeding methods - read this book) and how companies like Monsanto have circumvented regulation by inventing the fine sounding but totally unscientific doctrine of "substantial equivalence" for their products. How senior staff have moved from Monsanto to the FDA - and other regulatory bodies - and vice versa, in a revolving door that benefits only the company, never the consumer. From Agent Orange during the Vietnam war to Bt cotton today it is a sobering history and one with potentially dire consequences for all of us.

Marie-Monique Robin has done a fantastic job with his book and I encourage everybody to read it. It is a real life morality story for our time.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2014
An excellent well researched expose of the devastating impact of a multinational agrochemicals company on our Planet and the greedy exploitation of communities and their consequences across the globe. A courageous effort in more ways than one.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2012
Really an eye-opener and verging on the unbelievable. Not heavy going, as I thought it might be, and quite gripping.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2014
Everyone should read this. Pretty scary
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2012
In a nutshell, Monsanto has immense power and is accountable to no-one. They have exposed us all to PCBs, herbicides, dioxins and bovine growth hormones while being fully aware of the harmfulness of these substances. It's profit at any price.

As one quote in the book says, Monsanto is, 'A calmly arrogant company heedlessly profiting from the suffering of victims and the destruction of ecosystems.'

Monsanto knew that PCBs were harmful way back in 1937. They have falsified studies and concealed the evidence which didn't suit their bottom line, and the sold-out FDA and EPA lend them an aura of respectability that most people accept at face value, and so their destruction of our environment and our health continues unabated.

We can't say we didn't know with the information in this book so clearly presented and we must try to stop (somehow) Monsanto getting control of our seeds and so our entire food supply as is their current completely terrifying aim. This just can't be allowed to happen.

For information on how to undo some of the damage caused by pesticides, PCBs, dioxins and other toxic compounds (which underlie so many diseases) I also recommend the excellent book Detoxify or Die by Dr Sherry Rogers. Equally important is avoiding contaminated and GMO foods (especially growth hormone containing milk) as much as possible.

This book is very well done and is so needed. I hope this book is as widely read as it deserves to be. Finally some real investigative journalism - such a rare thing these days. Thank goodness for books, and libraries!

Jodi Bassett, The Hummingbirds' Foundation for M.E.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2010
This book, which took 4 years of thorough worldwide research to complete, paints a most comprehensive picture of the activities of one of the world most controversial (and most despised) company.
A must read for anyone who wants to understand the problem of GM crops, or indeed, anyone who has more that a passing interest in food or agriculture.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2010
Superbly written and researched book.

Even though I've been following Monsanto since quite some time, and hence was aware of their manifest wrong doing in the past (PCB, Agent Orange, Roundup, rBST/rBGH, ...), I was still amazed to read what they've been up to until very recently.

For me, the biggest I learned was that the new face to the outside world Monsanto has put on is just a mask and the truth is that it's just business as usual: sell whatever they can irrespective of the human cost AND EVEN if they know that what they sell is extremely harmful to people and living things in general.

An absolute must read for everyone in the world, not just US-citizens. Why? Just read chapter 16 in the book about the WTO, GATT, TRIPS (Agreement on Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights) and more specifically article 27 paragraph 3(b) relating to "patentable subject matter".
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2011
This is an excellent book, I cant recommend it highly enough. It shows with evidence the methods Monsanto has used and still uses to develop and promote its toxic products throughout the world.This is a must read for everybody, especially given the recent efforts of Monsanto to impose GMs in Europe. Such an event would be catastrophic as the contamination from GMs would affect many conventional crops and wild plants and we will (again thanks to Monsanto) have to face a global contamination and genetic pollution whether we like/choose it or not. Definitely read this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)