Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
20
4.3 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2017
I found it quite slow and repetitive. It was one of those I kept reading expecting it to get better, but it didn't.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
A beautiful story, well written and one you will find hard to put down once you start to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
Wonderful story thoroughly enjoyed every page
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2016
I have to say this was just lovely I didn't want to put it down. I finished this at 3am the night after I started it, it grabbed me hook line and sinker.
The story flips perspectives mainly between Charlotte in the present day and Emily in 1912
In the present day Charlotte owner of her own bridal shop has purchased a trunk at an estate auction that when opened it reveals a 100yr old wedding dress still in immaculate condition and a mystery that draws Charlotte on a journey to find the origins of the dress. Leading her to Hillary who wore it in 1968 and then Mary Grace who wore it in 1939 each with their own story of the dress.
Alongside this we have the story of Emily in 1912 who engaged to be married is torn between two dresses one made by Mrs Caruthers a renowned dressmaker of the times amongst the wealthier families and whom her mother considers the only option but whom Emily doesn't like either as a person or her style suggestions and Taffy Hayes an equally talented dressmaker but shunned by her mother and her intends family due to her being coloured and not considered a suitable choice given the times and area of the story.
Both Emily in 1912 and Charlotte in the present day have choices to make about their romantic choices in their lives and along the way will discover things about their own personalities and lives which were lovely to read and get absorbed into.
Though there were religious elements in the characters lives I didn't find it distracting from the overall story with was just charming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
When Charlotte finds a wedding dress a hundred years old in an old trunk she buys at auction, she doesn't know that her life is about to change. Owner of a bridal boutique, she herself is engaged to be married after a whirlwind courtship. Discovering the dress makes her resolve to search for the bride - or brides - who had worn the dress, while also wondering who would be the next wearer.
The story weaves skilfully between Charlotte's life and that of the previous owners'. Rachel Hauck draws the reader into discovering Charlotte's character and background while introducing us into very different lives. The story is gently romantic, yet the heroines are real women struggling with issues which many today would identify with. Joy and sadness, life and death, are depicted in the way they impact on the characters' lives and personalities.
Switching between the different eras was no problem, but towards the end of the book I found myself becoming slightly confused by the number of characters - I almost needed a family tree - before all the threads were drawn together by the end, where everything was explained neatly.
The Wedding Dress is a light-hearted read with a satisfying ending; a romance with an element of mystery. It is most definitely a Christian book, yet manages to avoid becoming sanctimonious or `picture perfect'. The author treats faith with a light, yet sensible touch: we see how Charlotte's faith affects her without feeling `preached' at. I was sent a complimentary copy through Booksneeze to review: having read quite a few Christian romances, this is by far the best-written and I look forward to reading more by this author. A good find.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
There are good books. There are excellent books. Just once in a while, there comes along that extra special book...and that is The Wedding Dress by Rachel Hauck. Once started, you just will not want to put it down!
Charlotte owns a wedding dress shop. After a whirlwind romance, is engaged to Tim and quickly heading towards her own wedding. Is this what she wants? Unsure of the answer, Charlotte heads up to the peace and tranquillity of the Ludlow estate, to listen to her heart and to God. However the estate is bustling with people for an auction. Charlotte gets caught up in the moment and finds herself bidding on an unlisted old chest.
The chest is welded shut and after bidding successfully, Charlotte becomes the new owner. Inside she finds a set of dog tags and a beautiful unaltered and seemingly unworn hundred year old wedding dress. What is its history? Charlotte feels compelled to find answers.
Running alongside Charlottes story, is that of Emily in 1912. She is a pioneer in her thinking and actions. She is often led into situations where she must choose between social conventions of the day or listening to her heart and to God.
Charlotte uncovers that the wedding dress has been worn by three previous women, and is determined to track them or their ancestors down, and to find the next perfect bride for the wedding dress.
As one reads the book, the wedding dress can be seen as a metaphor for Jesus - who is timeless and His message is the same whether it is 1912, 1939, 1968 or present day; and whatever shape you are in, His message will fit you.
The Wedding Dress truly was a totally enchanting and delightful novel. The parallel stories of both Charlotte and Emily will draw the reader in, eager to see how the situations are resolved.
This was the first book that I had read by Rachel Hauck, and I am now very keen to read everything else she has written! A totally captivating book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
I really enjoyed reading this book!!! It is such a good book it flows really well and I was hooked from the beginning it has strong women characters that we can be inspired by and has a good message that God cares about every detail of our lives! Would totally recommend!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2012
The title may sound very hearts and flowers but The Wedding Dress is more than that, offering a complex tale of loves lost and refound, or sometimes just loves lost that were never meant to be.

It is a cleverly woven story of the intertwined destinies of four women from different generations - Emily from 1912 who took a stand against the racist Jim Crow laws; Mary Grace from 1939 whose character seemed less well defined; Hilary from 1968 whose tragically brief love story was cut short by the Vietnam War; and Charlotte, modern day bride-to-be (maybe), whose destiny and family history are revealed as being strangely interlinked with each of the women who owned this strangely magical wedding dress.

The book can be categorised as Christian fiction, with "He moves in mysterious ways" and trusting in God's plans for you being the underlying moral to the story, but it is not overtly religious so this aspect will not put off anyone who is not that way inclined.

It's a lovely feel-good, lightweight, romantic read with a historical and religious slant that takes it to a deeper level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
Charlotte owns a bridal boutique but is struggling to find a wedding
dress for herself. At an estate sale she buys and old trunk on the spur
of the moment. When she eventually gets it open she finds a beautiful,
vintage wedding dress.
As Charlotte searches for the history of the dress she comes to know
about the women who wore it in 1912, 1939 and 1968. At the same time she
discovers more about her own history, her faith and finding true love.
I really enjoyed this book and didn't want it to end, so read only one
chapter a night instead of my usual 3 or 4!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
This must be one of the best book I have read in ages. I was a little skeptical because I had not heard about the author previously, and the customer reviews did not tell me much about what to expect.
But the plot blew my mind away, the christian message was so subtly and efficiently shared. I did think that it took a little while to take off, but as soon as it did, I could not put the book down.
This is an author I definitely will be buying more books from. And The wedding dress is a novel that would recommend to anyone looking for something different and exciting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse