Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 July 2015
Loved the book and have great admiration for Barbara Fredrickson, but feel the title will put off a lot of people. This is a shame--I can understand why she wanted to call it that, but perhaps the subtitle would be better as the title. Putting the claim of "reinventing love" before the explanation is challenging and may even seem arrogant, but if you can get past the title and actually read the book, you will find that it is a new concept of love. It is one which is much more in tune with reality and explains how the romantic version of love limits us from experiencing and revelling in the micromoments of connectivity. William Feather said "Plenty of people miss their share of happiness, not because they never found it, but because they didn't stop to enjoy it." If you replace the word "happiness" with "love" that helps you understand why this book is so important. It is interesting to compare with CS Lewis's The Four Loves.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
Barbara is a brilliant storyteller. She has bought out into the light of day, all the ancient beliefs about love and coupled these with the latest research a must for everyone! I gave all my dearest friends a copy for Christmas!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
easy to read for everyone. Applicable by everyone. No need of initiation to specific meditation and therefore a great introduction to deeper teaching, for those who would want; but this book is also self standing as there is probably not much more to happiness than applying all the exercises offered in our daily life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
I thought this book was hugely inspirational and I've been using the techniques to help clear my mind.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
There is no doubt that this book contains some gems of information that help us to understand the dimensions and manifestations of love. Its well researched, even if Barbara's conclusions about the research are limited to the lens of her particular positive psychology. I think that Barbara is raising our awareness of the precursors to love, the emotions that accompany love and the pleasure and well-being that comes from human connection - but these cannot be described as love itself. Her claim is grand when she defines love in her terms, a claim she doesn't substantiate in the book and one that wipes out a wealth of wisdom and knowledge that exists in the world about the subtleties, complexities and diversity of the realities of love.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2016
Everyone should read this, provides an excellent review and a new perspective of the emotion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
Fast delivery, carefully packaged. Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
This is what everybody needs to read.
llike Positivity this book changes my life but in another way : iT EXPLAINS
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2017
Very good. Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)