Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 20 January 2018
If you teach Martial arts in any form, you should have Rory Miller’s books. Simple as that. In Facing Violence, Rory Miller continues to be uncompromising and illuminating. I have had a keen general interest in Martial arts since I was a kid. I hold a 3rd Degree black belt in Moo duk Kwan Tae Kwon Do and Rory’s concepts for preparing a person for real life violence and it’s consequences are brilliant. As an instructor I’ve found that many schools do not teach these skills. A jumping back kick followed by your favourite elbow strike might send your assailant to the hospital but what happens then? It’s great to have a book that looks at violence and it’s effects in this way. Every instructor should understand these principles. A great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2015
As a Karate instructor of some 45 years I found this book to be very usefull with practical info. As a guy who has worked all kinds of Security and especially as a full time nite club door man I found this book to be very realistic and straight forward, giving common sense advice. I could relate to it because, like many guys and ladies working in the industry, we've seen it and can verify what Rory Miller is saying.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2013
Reading this book gives you a chill down the spine, as it requires you to look into a world you may only be dimly aware of- the world of extreme violence. Rory Miller appears to have a deep understanding of this world and imparts his knowledge of it clearly . His style is terse and straightforward. You are left with the uneasy feeling that you would be ill prepared for a sudden confrontation with the phenomena he describes so well.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2016
A great read and a perfect next step from his earlier book"Meditations of Violence". Very informative and a very humbling, non apologetic analysis of violence and inadequacies of some martial arts teaching.

Highly recommended for the martial artist that wants to get under the skin of the reason for martial arts and defense in the first place.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2018
Simply and really great! Changes the mindset for ever once you start to believe the concepts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2012
Facing Violence builds further on new concepts which the author presents in a clear and concise manner. Most noticeably the author discusses the legal ramifications of being in a violent scenario and indeed surviving one and being brought to court as a result. This is an interesting reference and certainly helped me to understand some issues that the courts will consider when and if a violent encounter ends up in court, including how to show the jury and the judge that it was an act of self defense. Other areas discussed are the after effects of a violent encounter and how best to deal with problems a person may be facing, including writing the pro's and con's of the encounter or how to help someone else pull through their difficulties. In all this book is as good as Meditations on Violence and helps further and recap on the issues that are crucial to fully understanding the details before, during and after a violent scenario. A great reference and a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2016
This book is down to earth and thought provoking. It will bring into context the important aspects of self-defence and perhaps shatter some illusions.
Comprehensive and well written, a must for any professionals facing violence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2015
Great read and a good supplement to my Krav Maga training. Some of the techniques decribed are difficult to understand without fuller graphics or images (which were not provided) but apart from that it was a very interesting perpective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2015
Great follow up to his second book. Having trained with Rory Miller I can vouch for his skills. A lot of it is logical but many are things we take for granted. This book makes you stop and think.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2012
Great book by a guy who has lived it. Spiritual, practical and honest. A must for martial artists, people working with the dangerous people. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)