Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now



on 22 May 2017
Fascinating study into violence by an authority on the subject. Discussing some of his inmates' past crimes Miller has actually written some of the most disturbing lines I've ever read. not for tbe squeamish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
This and Facing Violence by the same author should be considered must-read by anyone serious about teaching or learning credible self defence. Miller looks at the differences between real violence and that practised in most martial arts, using a variety of examples from his long career in corrections facilities.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2017
Profound & professional advice, many hard facts faced & while admitting no one has all the answer, gave me a lifetime of experience & the resulting contemplations.
I found some of it hard to read, all of it worthwhile
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2017
good book - buy all three
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2017
Hands down the finest examination of violence and surviving it available. Entertaining and brutally honest, I would put it top of the list for anyone involved in a potentially violent career path or interested in the world of martial arts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2017
Great Download Kindle Book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2017
Very thought provoking and challenging. I liked that he did get to how you could train and prepare to defend yourself against violence - even though he started by suggesting it would be difficult to do so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2012
a very good thought provoking book written in a good clear manner i recommend anyone who studies the martial arts or even those who are thinking of doing so to read this Mr Miller cuts through a lot of the B.S and has real experience with the nasty side of life and how it is never like the films or tv shows and how sudden and out of the blue most attacks really are.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2017
would recommend to anyone who trains in self defense. This book has made me consider things in a different way which may be very important in a bad situation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2011
the subject of violence is rarely being analyzed in such a great detail, to give a regular person a way to understand it's complexity, roots and dynamics
the book is also a very practical guide on how to shift the focus of your training from sportive or ritual goals towards actual self-defence
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)