Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 23 June 2014
I read these graphic novels when I was a teenager and loved them and this is the first time I have read them since then. The story of what happened to Newt, Hicks and Ripley after the events of Aliens is far more interesting than the path that 20th Century Fox decided to take (the production trouble with Alien 3 has passed into movie legend) and I really wish the had followed this route.

This Omnibus is split into three parts and is based on Steve Perry's novels (which I've also read): Earth Hive, Nightmare Asylum and Female War. Part 1 deals with Earth being overrun by the Alien menace and how Hicks and Newt attempt to escape the horror. Part 2 tells the story of a mad general who thinks he can train an army of Aliens to help him retake Earth. Finally part three covers the return of Ripley and how she assists with finally helping to rid Earth of the Aliens.

There are some errors in the story which I have to bring up. These books were written before Alien 3 came out so Newt and Hicks were still referred to by their proper names but had to be changed to Billy and Wilks when Alien 3 was released. That is all well and good but then they start getting referred to again by their proper names in book 3 which I find odd. Also, some of the marines from LV4-26 are referred to by their proper names while others from the same squad are not. Finally, LV4-26 is referred to as Rim and then changed back again by book 3. I just don't understand these inconsistencies.

Other than those complaints, these are very interesting books and definitely worth a read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2015
The section illustrated by Den Beauvais is stunning, visceral and perfectly encapsulates the sleek, hi-tech world of Aliens. It's a pity Den couldn't have produced the whole thing as the quality elsewhere is patchy.

Generally the story is very good, especially the way in which the Hicks/Wilks character develops and the Alien draws closer to Earth. This deserves its own movie and is a whole heap better than the hit and miss third and fourth films. That said, after a while the stories do get repetitive. I lost count of the amount of times that Newt recounts her miserable experiences on Rim/LV426.

If you can't wait for Alien 5 and want to experience how the franchise ought to have developed, then get this. You'll be highly entertained.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2017
Can't wait to read this its been a long time since j last read it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2017
Pleased with product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 February 2008
This is a great budget value collection of several of the Alien's graphic novels kicking off with the legendary Mark Vernhieden Dark Horse collection from the late 80s. Full colour, great print, and all stories are extremely good. However, my only minor gripe is the editing that's occurred in the Genocide story. This was written prior to Alien 3 even being announced, and as such follows the post Aliens adventures of Hicks and Newt. However, they have edited the story to be about a girl called 'Billie', and a Colonial Marine called 'Wilks' (despite mentioning many of the other aliens colonial marines by name in flashbacks). I guess this is to incorporate itself into the proper continuity of the aliens series, but come on... Can we not read an 'alternate' story and just enjoy it for what it is? All in all, great, but if you're after pure authenticity, you might wanna track down some original versions of the Vernheiden story!
33 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2013
This volume collects the first comic book issues of the series and includes TV scribe Mark Verheiden's astounding sequel stories that continue the story from the movie Aliens in a wonderful way. Many people feel that this is how Alien 3 movie should have been. Anyway, unless you haven't read these stories yet and are a true fan of the franchise, I can recommend this volume to you with all my heart!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2015
Thrilling to come back to the comics of my childhood all in a full omnibus digital edition. We all know this is how it should have gone if it wasn't for that damn alien3. But no matter, Den Beauvis' artwork is worth purchasing this for alone, absolutely sublime, captures the aliens and films like no other. I'll be buying book 2!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2014
It isn't as good as people make it out to be. The first book starts slow but gets good. The second book is fantastic from start to finish. It's the third book that's the problem. It's abysmal, the art work is often childish or confusing. There are continuous inconsistencies and it's full of cliches and very poor writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2014
The first story in this compendium I read as a normal novel. The others were new to me. Apart from being a good book,if someone annoys you by looking over your shoulder, trying to read what's on your kindle. One look at this and they will leave you alone!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2015
3 very different art style; like the first two but the last one I'm not as keen on. Shame there are some of the odd adaption changes (Newt to Billie and Hicks to Wilks) but overall it's pretty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse