Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now



on 22 April 2009
Although the movie Serenity resolved all the major plotlines, the men with hands of blue didn't feature and Inara and Book had already left the ship. Inara's reasons were well covered in the episode Heart of Gold, but Shepherd Book's reasons weren't, so it was good to see that explored in this book. The main draw has got to be the resolution of the Hands of Blue plotline. Do we learn anything more about them? No. To be honest, I just wondered what happened to them - I didn't particularly need to know their life stories, especially as the revelations of the film made that sort of redundant.

For a TV series that should have run for many series, let alone a full one, Firefly was always something very special and to me this graphic novel was the equivalent of an extra episode. There has since been another. There should be more. The artwork is very good and the humour and dialogue slipping into Chinese at heated moments is just what you'd hope for from a Firefly tie-in. It's not the TV series, but it feels like part of it, and for anyone who loved the TV show as well as the movie, I'd say it should be part of their collection.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 April 2006
This is a great comic and a great addition to the Firefly/Serenity universe. The art is great, the dialogue and script all sit well with the established universe and style. What stopped me giving it 4 or more stars was it being hyped as filling in the blanks between the end of the series and the film. It gives you nothing that you hadn't worked out for your self if you had seen both the series and film.

WARNING: I am going to explain a bit of the plot, but trust me, I'm not really giving anything away:

Inara said she was leaving, she does. Book doesn't always agree with the Captain, has a murky past and is moving around the universe, so, he moves on. The blue glove guys turn up and are nasty. The operative is introduced, briefly. It does bring back a character from the series that Joss Whendon said in the DVD commentary would have returned. so that's something. There are no great revelations. Buy this for another fun adventure with the same characters. Don't buy it to fill minor plot gaps, your imagination did that for you.
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2006
I first heard about Firefly and Serenity about 9 months ago and since then I've been hooked. The characters, the setting, the dialogue, all of it is the product of a great imagination and genuinely talented writing. After watching the TV series and the film I craved more which is why I was so happy to discover this comic collection.

Unfortunately it isn't anywhere near the heady heights of its filmed counterparts. Set in between the events of Firefly and Serenity it aims to create a bridging plot. Unfortunately it does not achieve this. I found the story dull, with nothing there to keep my interest going. It neither asked nor answered any questions of the characters and I felt really let down by the end.

Having said that, the artwork is extremely close to the look of the film and some of the dialogue is close to normal Joss Whedon standards. I'm glad I read it, just because I enjoy Firefly so much, but don't expect to be blown away in the same ways that Firefly and Serenity managed.
0Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2005
It is about time that Joss Whedon gets the respect he deserves for his doomed sci-fi show Firefly. And with the big screen adaptation of Serenity, the show's greatness might just become public knowledge. This collection, of the comic books that have already been released separately, bridges the gap between the cut short TV show, and the big screen film.
And first of all, what an interesting story. Well, with it being penned by none other than Joss Whedon, it was going to be. It starts with a bang, and never lets up till the end.
What's most amazing, is how faithful the characters are. Not only do they look like the actors that play them, what they say feels realistic to that character, as if that character would say that. Some movie/comic book adaptations are criticised for not being accurate, but this is the entire cast of Firefly down to a capital T.
Funny, action packed and just plain perfect, this is needed by any fan of the film or series. Will there be a second TV series? Will they do a film sequel? Who knows. Could they do more comics? YES PLEASE!
0Comment| 91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2017
Well written and visualised. Fills in some gaps and feeds the need for more Firefly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 August 2009
The book is a well written and drawn story set in between the TV Series and the Movie. Essentially it reads as another story for the crew and passengers on Firefly and difficulties that they get into. It has the interactions between the characters that we have come to love and now miss. It also has some great banter that would not have been out of place in the show.

What is particularly good is the way that it sets up the events that happen in the movie with the final moments serving as a direct link. It felt short, but that was maybe because

On the other side many questions do remain, namely if we will ever learn what Book's history and secrets are. The fact that the end of the story is essentially linked to the movie makes it feel a little like there are no new truths that you have gained by reading it.

Having said all of that, it was nice to re-enter the firefly 'verse again and see the crew. If only for a little while.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2011
Those Left Behind acts as a nice little bridge to the Firely tv show and the Serenity movie, tying up any loose threads and ending anything that was set up for a further series, but not for the film. Although the way this is gone about feels just like reading a proper episode, a few parts seem a bit cheap in terms of killing off plot points. However, the return of a previous villain and some nice character revelations bring this back up with things they obviously wanted to explore had the series continued. Overall this a fun little bridge for fans, but you won't be missing out on anything spectacular if you miss it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2006
This comic is meant to bridge the gap between the 'Firefly TV' series and 'Serenity' movie. In reality though it doesn't really carry the plot forwards, or even broaden the Firefly'verse at all, except in vaguely introducing the 'Operative'.
The strongest element of the comic is that the characters' likenesses are very close to that of the actors, and the dialogue also mostly catches their mannerisms. The rest of the artwork though is workmanlike and the settings are nothing special.
As a stand-alone story this comic is rather uninspired. It would be nice to see the comic continue though and if the writers had more freedom from the story arc of the show/movie it might really become something 'shiny'.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2011
I am not a fan of comics usually, but I am a firefly fan.
The graphics and story are so firefly.
Shame the network stopped it!
Bring back Captain Tight Pants and his crew!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2008
I think this is deliberate though as it wouldn't do to have a comic tell an important story in the firefly setting just in case a new series or movie is commissioned. While that looks very unlikely now at the time this was first published it was more of a possibility.
That aside this is Ok, the art is nice and the characters are recognisable. The plot is simple and a bit too light but the characters are portrayed well, its like a filler episode of a TV series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse