Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2000
This is the 'compleat' edition of Neil Gaiman's three part graphic novel collaboration with Alice Cooper. It is a brilliant, and occasionally slightly disturbing, story of a boy called Steven and the showman of a theatre 'that isn't there until sunset'. This accompanies the Alice Cooper concept album of the same name and fills in some of the gaps in the story not in the songs. I thoroughly enjoy my copy and I'm glad it's coming into print again.
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2002
The overall view of this graphic novel is interesting, it is based upon the Alice Cooper-esque cental character, the showman, and has an obviously link to his music. This should be of no suprise when you consider that Cooper had considerable in put to the finished artical.
As a novel in it's own right it is limited in storyline and seems to finish before it really gets started, even though the graphics are intriguing in their gothic representation of one of rocks most macarbe characters.
It indulges the Cooper fans who understand some of the musical links and the links to the character names but, as a piece of work in its own right, it seems to have lost in the translation from promotional comic books to collected novel.
Although it is enjoyable, it is not the kind of graphic novel that you will choose to read over and over again, but in saying this it is recommended to any Alice Cooper fans who did not manage to complete the collection of single promotional comics.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2001
I have to admit - I am not a huge Alice Cooper fun though I do admire his work. (and as time goes on he needs less and less makeup:), but is still kicking). Story is a very nice try to retell Faustian legend. Gaiman is definitely at his element. But some sly voice from deep inside keeps reminding me that it was a marketing exercise after all. All hails to smart executives at Alice's record company - they knew they can relay on Gaiman. But don't we all, as readers? So if you have more than one Gaiman book at home - buy it! And if you are a fan of Alice, you probably have it already... NOT?!! Go and buy it right now!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2012
This graphic novel, at first, would appear to be something that only a die-hard Alice Cooper fan would enjoy, and you'd be right as they surely would enjoy it, but that doesn't mean that this isn't an enjoyable read for anyone else who perhaps only has the vaguest understanding of all things Alice. Alice Cooper as a character is not all that hard to come to grips with, and this tale inspired by the character is no harder.

[Possible spoiler alert, though it's not too in-depth]

This novel is a simple story about a young boy named Steven in a seemingly picturesque American town, who is taken aside one day by a mysterious black-eyed showman, promising him a theatrical event not to be missed. From there on he is teased and followed endlessly by the showman, who wants Steven for his "Theatre of the Real", and the boy must decide between a life of misery and sorrow crawling through the streets as shown to him by the showman, or surrendering and becoming the latest star of the aforementioned "Theatre of the Real".

[Spoilers over]

This novel, written by Neil Gaiman and illustrated by Michael Zulli, is a simply smashing read. Alice Cooper has always been a fantastic onstage personality, his live shows featuring all the features of classic early horror and vaudville showmanship, and that makes him the perfect antagonist in this story. There are certain littles elements in the story where being an AC fan does help (Nods to song lyrics), but it's not impossible to enjoy this tale even if you only have a base understanding of Alice Cooper and his antics. This is a must-read, and for the price of £7.47 (Priced stated in March 2012), you can't go wrong.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
This reads very much like a Twilight Zone or Twin Peaks episode or a Masters Of Horror installment. It is short, surreal, the narrative is simple and focused but strong. This was written as part of a tie in with an Alice Cooper album and although you'll get more if you are familiar with the album it certainly isn't essential. The artwork by Zulli is very strong and certainly makes Alice Cooper a very memorable character. This is fun and entertaining but it isn't an essential piece of Neil Gaimans work. It won't change your life but it's fun and worth reading and this is a nice edition with a good authors introduction and really high quality print.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2011
A mysterious theatre and a charismatic showman with an uncanny resemblance to Alice Cooper appear down an alley where before nothing stood, tempting a young boy inside for a show he won't soon forget - warning signs anyone? Not if you're a character in a Neil Gaiman book!

The boy is taken on a roller-coaster ride of strange performances in the theatre and when he escapes to the real world is still dogged by a Krueger-esque Cooper who haunts his dreams and waking life. But why is he doing this? Something to do with his soul - except not. Yeah, I was a bit confused too. Cooper claims to want the boy's "potential" whatever that might mean. Why is never explained. To continue "living"? Who knows. Gaiman and Cooper don't care they're just too enamoured with their Devil and Daniel Webster style story.

And that's what I didn't enjoy about the book, this lack of explanation or credible story. It's just a piece of pantomime that tries to have an emotional centre to it but fails. The only thing I'll say is truly exceptional is Michael Zulli's artwork. If you thought the cover was eye-catching, the splash pages and the two-page strips inside are something else. The black and white inks throughout are detailed and beautifully rendered, bringing the right tones of creepy to Gaiman's mood-driven script.

But maybe it's because of Cooper's involvement that the story is a bit light and maybe there are a number of references to Cooper's songs that I didn't get because I'm not a fan of his?

Buy it for the artwork but don't expect for your brain to be tickled by the simplistic story inside.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2010
This is a very cool graphic novel based on the album of the same name from Shock rock star legend Alice Cooper which came out in 1994. It is draw by a very talented known comic artist and written by none other than comic book legend of strange spooky fantasy tales Mr Neil Gaiman. It is really great read, a spooky horror story with fantastic artwork, and the story is based on the lyrics to the songs on the album (or vice versa). Really cool, amazing book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
I remember buying The Last Temptation the first time, on cassette, back in the 90s. You got a taster of the Alice Cooper comics with it. I remember i really enjoyed it. I am not really a comic book fan, but however i did think the artwork was brill and well written to. For those who are Alice fans, or comic books, this is for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2009
Bought the book as i only had part one of the series issued with the cassette (shows how long ago i bought the album). Enjoyed the book, i knew what it was about being a big Cooper fan. Bit disappointed it was in black & white, but hey ho, a good read. I would say this is a must for Cooper fans to add to their collection, I am sure i will read it many more times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2010
bought this book for my husband who is a big Alice Cooper fan, we went to see him in concert and he was awesome! husband read book in one night! he just could not put it down!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here