Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 September 2010
Well i was certanly no comic book geek before i read this....thats changed now. The story is gripping and exciting, the artwork by Cary Nord is the best iv ever seen, the art style was what made me buy this. I read this is a very short amount of time due to the fact i couldnt wait to know what happens next. It says The frost giants daughter and other stories but its basicly all one story, taking conan from joining an army to escaping from a hidden kingdom, the frost giants daughteris one chapter of this epic tale.
So Great story, fantastic artwork, bargin price, go for it. I cant wait to start volume two.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2007
Beautiful art, skillful storytelling and amazing ideas breath fresh life into Howard's evergreen creation. This and the other volumes will not fail to excite and entertain, both new Conan fans and old. The writing manages to convey the power and might of the central character without sacrificing pace or story telling. We are given a brooding violent version of Conan without being bored by endless pages of fighting, however the fight scenes as they are are both economic and yet powerful, Cary Nord's fantastic pencils convey the action in one or two panels that other artists would take pages to do. The re-telling manages to be faithful to Howard's originals, being both epic and action packed, without slavishly copying them, it is wonderful to see Conan capturing a whole new generation of fans through this truly beautiful series.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
My only exposure to Conan prior to this was the 80s film, as I'd always found the one dimensional character portrayed in the comics tedious in the extreme. Kurt Busiek and Cary Nord bring out the character of Conan in this and the next three volumes of this series to the point that I was moved to read the original stories and found some of them to be surprisingly witty. Conan is a lively, funny, handsome and charming (even in his awfulness) character in these volumes but sadly after that the art and stories crash and burn. I've bought them up to about volume 9 in the vain hope of a return to these early volumes to no avail. Buy this, enjoy it and the next three splendid books, then save your money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
I bought this after finishing the complete chronicles of conan by robert e howard. I am a fan of both prose fiction and graphic novels, and i was looking forward to this a lot.

I was not disappointed at all when i received this. The paper quality and printing is good, the artwork is nice, but by far the best is the storytelling. I was expecting a re-hash of the original prose but i as overjoyed to find new tales. They keep conan close to howard's original, and even have few references to howard's style of writing.

Anyone who likes conan, and especially the original stories will not be dissapointed by this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2005
Know then oh Prince ...
This is a collection of the first few comics (?Seven) in the new Dark Horse Conan Series.
The stories combine the authentic R. E. Howard vision with writers expanding on Howards work to create the story of Conan's early life
The pace is perfect but Conan seems too mature.
At times the artwork is spectacular but I feel it is let down by the main character. It is not Conan as I see him- but it is pretty good.
Overall it potrays Conan as Howard created him and in its imaginings it is a significant addition to the world of Conan
A good read for all
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
The stories in this first Dark Horse Conan collection are fun and well worth the read. However, the book itself has a printing problem towards the back. There is no chapter 6 title page - goes from 5 to 7 and then it has missing pages. At the end of the first chapter 7 is a second chapter 7 which contains both the missing pages and a repeat of the earlier section. Poor quality control for what is, in my case, an 11th reprint edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2007
I've read the first 4 volumes in this series and this is by far the best one. I found it an absolute joy from start to finish. Great character, great story and glorious artwork. This first volume is based on the original Robert E Howard stories "Nemedian Chronicles" and "The Frost Giant's Daughter". It is a decent size read for a graphic novel and is far superior to the awful/cheesy 70's Conan comics. Fact.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
Loved this book, I can't recommend it enough. I'm looking forward to vol.2. The art work is amazing and the storytelling is fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
Easy writing and brilliant art. Very close reminiscence of Robert e. Howard. I truly reccomend this book to any conan or fantasy fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
The first Conan comic I ever read and still arguably the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse