Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2005
Good day to everyone who has decided to read my review!
I must say that i really really enjoyed this comic book! I'm not a fan of the word graphic novel, right anywho!!! Yes this comic is really good i thought. I heard people saying it wasn't ol' Frank Miller at his best but i think that it is.
I thought that the art and use in the comic was pretty much spot on. There were a few moments i had to stop and examine the picture with more detail to understand it properly but you realise that every picture is in some way unique!
Also the story in the comic was rather different from what i originally expected it to be. At first you havew a small idea of where the story is going but never actually sure. That's the joy of it. You know the story is heading somewhere but you don't really have a clue until, well you can find that out!
Yeah so its all good i thought! And ofcourse one must remember that Marv is back in there! Good ol' Marv, he's as crazy as ever!!! Give it a read some time! it's fun!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2012
It's hard to give a summary of the story without making it sound cheesy and stereotypical with far too much macho action, because the book, and series even, is all of those things but manages to be so much better than all of that. A sleazy photographer takes pictures of an extra-marital affair with which he plans to blackmail the man with - this is our hero. Then the noir element kicks in - the femme fatale enters the bar in a haze of smoke and shadows. She's in trouble, and the photographer called Dwight is the one to save her after all... they used to be lovers. And then we're off, onto a twisting plot through the deadly streets of Sin City to a blood soaked ending.

I read the Sin City series shortly before the first movie back in 2005 and, now that the sequel's out, I thought I'd revisit this one to see if it holds up - and it most certainly does. This is Frank Miller: The Glory Years, when he was writing amazing Batman books, Daredevil stories, and creating his own comic masterpiece with Sin City. He writes and draws these books providing a master-class to all artists who read it: this is how you write a noir comic and make it both high art and bad-ass to boot.

The book is in black and white, and Miller uses light and shadows to full effect in all of the panels. Look at Ava Lord's entrance: first full page silhouette with hazy white smoke at the top, then close up, then look at Dwight's face, then close up still but not making out any features on the shadowy face, then the meeting, then straight into dialogue fresh from the 1930s. It's so cinematic!

Or Dwight's fight with Manute and his bloody end, flying through a window, falling with the glass, hitting the bottom of the page, then a blank black page, then a full page look at his spread-eagled, unconscious form - end of chapter. There are too many moments like this to go into but I was shaking my head in awe of Miller's use of black and white in this book. The guy created a unique look to these comics that remain untouched with age and still looks innovative today.

I won't go into the twisty, turning plot which takes you one way and then, halfway through, switches direction with breath-taking ease and sends you hurtling another way. I will say one thing which is to read "The Hard Goodbye" before this as that's the first Sin City book and "A Dame To Kill For" is the second, and the two cross paths in their telling in a way that you'd appreciate more if you read them both in order. Hell, read them all, they're all brilliant!

The dialogue is wonderful, full of macho metaphors, moody voice-overs, each character playing an archetype with relish and verve - they're cartoons, they know it, Miller knows it, and that frees them up to just have fun with it. Don't approach this book expecting realism - it's gritty but not at all in a realistic way.

The book and series is nothing short of a triumph of high art, literature, and the beating heart of what people love most about comics: fun. If you know someone who doesn't like comics because to them it's for people with low IQs or are perennially stuck in childhood, give them a copy of this book and see if it won't change their mind.

Noir was a great genre while it lasted and Chandler, Hammett, and Cain were all geniuses but Miller takes Noir and makes it even better with his Sin City stories. There should be another label for the genius of these books but there isn't so I'll end this review by urging new and old readers of the series to pick up these books if you're looking for a damn good read.

Get yourself a copy and settle down with a shot and a brew - Marv and co. have some stories to tell you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2004
The book really shows what Frank Miller can do with graphics - the artwork is absolutely superb. However he doesn't manage to pull off the Chandleresque style - the story feels like it was written by an adolescent trying too hard. Miller can write (Dark Knight Returns, Electra Lives Again), but the noirish realism of Dame to Kill For exposes a lack of subtlety here. Still, worth it for the art
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I thought it would be fun in anticipation for the new Sin City movie A Dame to kill for to read the comic that the movie is based upon. I loved the first movie (Actually bought it today and will try to re-watch it again soon) and I hope that the sequel will be just as good.

Anyway the story in Sin City: A Dame to kill for is quite simple: Dwight is working as a photographer taking pictures of men having affairs with women. He gets contacted after a job by his old flame Ava Lord and she is the dame with a capital D for him. She is miserable in her marriage and scared and of course he will do anything to help her. And of course he enlists Marv to help him. And that’s as much I will give away of the plot.

I found the story very engrossing. It’s gritty, dark, noir and very much brutal to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2005
Having only discovered Sin City in the cinema recently (purists are going to hate that), I was pretty blown away by the movie. A Dame to Kill For is the second book in the original series. The synopsis above pretty much covers the plot, so what's it like? This book is pretty amazing stuff, especially if you liked the Dwight McCarthy character in the movie (but there is a good deal of Marv again in there to keep hisfans happy). Finding out his background is quite cool if you're a fan, especially how he alters his whole appearance to appear as he does in the movie. The story certainly holds together well with a few nice twists. Some other characters re-appear (Nancy, Kadie, Marv, Shelly and so on), as well as some familiar locations, which lends a nice air of nostalgia to the book. If you liked Dwight and his connection to the girls of Old Town, you're going to love this (there's plenty of Gail and Miho in there). Excellent book, inspires one to read on in Miller's wonderfully twisted Basin City tales...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2002
There's always something special about a book that doesn't allow you to put it down. Sin City was one of these for me. Although the artwork is a desired taste, there is no denying that the atmosphere and story that Frank Miller has created in his series of Sin City is unique. If you are any kind of art/comic fan then i recommend reading at least this one although i must warn you, chances are you'll be hooked.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2006
The first Sin City book was incredible, I've never read anything like it. So, how come the next book is such a flop? Firstly, all the characters are a bit dull, none of them have the charm that Marv did in the first book. This being set before and during the events of the first book, Marv makes a cameo appearance, but you never get to hear his thoughts during the book, which is what made him such an interesting character.

The plot is as flat as the characters. The first book has you constantly wondering what's going to happen, and could easily be read in one sitting, you just don't get bored enough to put it down. This time, however, you think nothing of putting it on the shelf and returning to it later, when you have the free time. It just doesn't draw you in as well.

The biggest problem with the book is the art work. What happened here? Miller spends less time trying to be artistic this time round, with much less of the kind of shots that made sin city good in the first place. Many panels lack any kind of shadowing at all, which ruin the atmosphere completely. And some characters appear slightly more cartoony than those in 'The Hard Goodbye'. It's only a small change, but it's noticeable. And lastly, he's not as willing to experiment with styles as much as he was last time round, so if you were expecting something elaborate such as the scene set in the rain, you can forget it now.

So put simply, not as interesting, not artsy enough and appears like a total lack of effort on Millers part. However, it is still very much Sin City, and still an OK buy, even if it isn't the best in the series.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
This novel is very Noir but totally awesome. It takes you think of old time Vegas, when the mobs ran everything and the 5-0 was used-oil dirty.

The main character Dwight, now there's a poor sucker if you've ever seen one; he's too in love with this Dame, a stone-cold bitch named Ava who time and time again screws him over. This time Ava's gone too far and Dwight is out for revenge.

This novel will keeps you at the edge of your seat all the time; I can't wait for the movie that is scheduled for release this year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 1999
the art of A dame is awesome(like the others sin city books),but the history is... well,is not bad, but for the miller's genius is weak and a kind of cliche.there is no development on the history,and with this, the good narrative and the good dialogs losing impact and direction.this is not a comic that put you inside the history,you read and...you just read! but I think that is just what frank wants,a more simple and with no deep characters development,just a good history with charming and letal women.(the high point of the book),and thinking on it,the man do it.this is a good comic,easy to read and understand,with an INCREDIBLE art work, the art really pays the price of the book!but if you want the best in sin city, buy the first one, family values,or big fat kill. and if you want the definitive frank miller's work, buy dark knight returns,batman year one,ronin and daredevil's born again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2012
Sinister. Sexy. I love this volume because it is both those things in abundance. The characters are volatile, unpredictable, manipulative and deadly and Sin City itself is dark and filthy yet deliciously corrupt and immoral. I just love reading about the place and watching as characters try to stay ahead in a world that is always looking to crush them.

The main character, Dwight, is very endearing and you find yourself willing him to succeed. I love how he represses some sort of buried anger which certain things bring out in him- I thought it was brilliantly depicted in the comic form. I also loved Ava as, despite her somewhat maniacal tendencies, she is an amazing character and really interesting. I also think she symbolises some sort of message about women in general but I'm not sure what. Perhaps that men think women are weak and underestimate them? That women perform their gender acknowledged fragility and vulnerability and weakness in order to manipulate men? I don't know but I felt that she seemed to represent the dichotomy of the stereotypes of women (femme fatale and innocent angel/goddess) in one body, which was fascinating.

This volume is particularly good if you, like me, have seen the film many times and want to read about a story that doesn't feature heavily in the film. The first volume 'The Hard Goodbye' was very familiar from seeing the film and, while still brilliant, it is good to have a new story to read and new characters to meet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse