Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
39
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£17.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 November 2011
This consists of the Courtyard (previously published as a graphic novel) and the four issues of Neonomicon series.

Probably best not to read the blurb on the back cover as it does give away the plot of the Courtyard.
This is definitely an adult comic and bits of it were disturbing. I thought at times maybe it was slightly too explicit.

To get the most out of it you might need some knowledge of H.P. Lovecraft. That will likely explain why the book is so explicit in certain areas.

This isn't Moore's best work but I still enjoyed it. The plot is much less straightforward than it seems at first and as usual it is impressive how it all ties together.

The artwork does a very good job. Maybe the faces could do with a bit more variety but I thought that Jacen Burrows did a very credible job, especially with some of the more unearthly characters.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
Superb writing and artwork that you always expect from Moore and co. Not for the faint hearted though. If you're familiar with Moore you know what to expect, if you aren't, there's a lot of blood and gore and violence and let's be frank porn! Alan Moore isn't shy about sex in his work and it's usually pretty far out there and close to the knuckle and this is no exception. Seriously, some of it is really messed up!

This is a fantastic addition to anyone's library whether you're a Lovecraft fan an Alan Moore fan or both (or just a bit twisted!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2012
Having been a fan of Lovecraft's work for some time, I have often hoped to see a comic or film that properly captures the feel and mind-bending twists that Lovecraft often achieves in his writings. The vast majority of adaptations I have seen in print to date have fallen flat at the basic art level, letalone the adaptation of plot. This led me to purchase Neonomicon on a whim as the artwork seemed the best and most fitting I had seen yet. I hoped for a good story to accompany the art style, and I was not dissapointed.

I had minor misgivings about a few of the name drops and puns in the early stages of the comic, but these proved quite fitting after completing the comic (so dont let the early puns such as "the ulthar cats" band put you off). The plot is not adapted specifically from a Lovecraft novel, so does not have any restraint in how it tells the story. This certainly does it a lot of credit. Without giving away any plot details, it has the same eerie feel and descriptive nature as Lovecraft's writing placed into a modern setting. Old one language is certainly common with significance too, and certain twists in the story have since added a new dimension when I read Lovecraft in more recent times.

As mentioned earlier, the art style is very detailed and fits incredibly well for the feel of the writing. Furthermore, the more abstract parts of the comic are very well drawn. I was particularly pleased to see a Lovecraftian horror given form that actually invokes a proper reaction and feel to the creature portrayed.

The comic is by no means perfect however. There are certain aspects to the story which are brilliant, but these also segue into a development that I personally thought should have been developed or expanded upon. The female lead is a complicated character, and one whom I felt was well written. However, there are certain moments where her reaction to stimuli seem slightly uncharacteristic or unbelievable. These moments are very far and few between however, and do have reason for happening.

Overall, I was very pleased with this comic and would be glad to see a lot more like it on the market. I strongly recommend this to anyone looking for a Lovecraft inspired work that isnt just a badly drawn hash of a pre-existing story.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2015
This book started out as a decent detective story, then it turned into a horrific rape porno that I rather not have read. The art itself is gorgeous and some of the monster designs are disturbing, but half way though the book it lost track of the detective story with no real explanation, then it just turned down right disturbing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 28 November 2011
I love the eldritch writings of H.P. Lovecraft & also love the imaginative redefining of established genres by Alan Moore. And I utterly adored Moore's reworking of Lovecraft's stories in The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (particularly the encounter between an ancient evil & Jeeves & Wooster), so this was a must-buy!

By way of introduction, this volume contains The Courtyard & is followed by its longer sequel, Neonomicon. When several unconnected people suddenly become killers who mutilate their victims in an identical, ritualised way, the FBI naturally take an interest. What they find is, as Lovecraft would say, "indescribable!"

Many elements of Moore's recent works are in evidence - magickal awakenings reminiscent of Promethea & some sexually explicit material which brings to mind Lost Girls &25,000 Years of Erotic Freedom. Add to that some downright nasty elements & you can appreciate that this one is very much for adults only.

If you're not familiar with Lovecraft's work, then what you'll probably get from this is a particularly dirty horror story, beautifully illustrated by Jacen Burrows but flawed in places (the police procedurals are inaccurately sloppy for the sake of the plot & one of Burrows' splash pages doesn't quite work for me). If you're a fan of Lovecraft, you'll get a unique & quite brilliant new perspective on stories nearly 80 years old, reinterpreted in an unexpected & exciting way, which totally fits with the source material. It left me with much to ponder & a burning desire to once again reread the originals - this time with new eyes.

You know when you encounter genius because what it tells you seems so apparent that in hindsight, you're amazed that you didn't think of it yourself sooner. By that measure, this deceptively straightforward story is certainly a work of genius, as long as you're familiar with the source material. If not, you'll probably wonder what all the fuss is about...
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
I approached this with some caution,having read much regarding the rape scene,covering ten pages.But I wanted theCourtyard,and having Providence,as well,and having been told by the back cover blurb that was a connected work,decided to buy it.I have read Lost Girls,another of Alan Moore's works described as pornographic,too,not because the subject matter of porn appeals--it doesn't repel me,either,many SF writers make,or made,ends meet by writing such stuff,and I've unwittingly purchased material of the nature before now,in all innocence--but because I have yet to be unimpressed by Moore,perhaps apart from the 2000AD material,decent,but far from Watchmen,for instance.The Courtyard was good,the whole thing,apart from the ten pages,I felt.worthy.If the rape is so very distasteful(and I believe it to be more significant in its intent than mere "tittilation",if rape could ever be considered as such,a vile and disgusting thing) perhaps Amazon might consider an "Adults Only" caution ,as some of today's so called "music"has parental advisory tags? But for myself,as a diehard Moore admirer,another piece of the puzzle that he is falls into place.I love HPL,and that was another reason this seemed a worthwhile buy to me,so I don' regret the purchase.It seems Alan put the "graphic" in graphic novel here a little too much,though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2011
"Neonomicon" follows up "Alan Moore's The Courtyard" which was a comic book written by Antony Johnston based upon a short story by Moore, and drawn by the incomparable Jacen Burrows. This time Moore takes over writing duties and Burrows returns to once again lend his enormous talent to the art.

Not that you need to purchase "The Courtyard" as it's included with "Neonomicon" picking up the strand where it ended ambiguously on the face of the protagonist who has looked into the strange world beyond this one. It turns out he went mad, killed a load of people and is now safely locked up in a prison for the criminally insane, speaking an incomprehensible language.

The Mulder and Scully combo that follow up his case get taken back to the setting of "The Courtyard" and into a strange underground society based around the work of HP Lovecraft - or is the world Lovecraft described actually real?

"Neonomicon" is the most entertaining Alan Moore book I've read in a while. He's finally come back from his weird Tom Strong trip and put together this bizarre Lovecraftian story that's pretty damn good.

While some of the dialogue was a bit unrealistic - Moore choosing to shoehorn esoteric references to early twentieth century black magic practitioners and obscure fantasy writers into casual conversation between two federal agents between scenes - it was a minor point that could be overlooked (thought kind of ironic as Moore has one of his characters say that Lovecraft wasn't much of a writer).

Jacen Burrows' artwork continues to be entrancing, he really made the book come to life. His designs of Lovecraft's world were flawless and the gallery at the end of the book just shows that someone who isn't publishing his work with Lovecraft's is missing a trick. His choice to draw the book in four horizontal length panels per page really paid off - it felt like watching a movie at times.

This is an excellent comic book of fantasy and horror that references the work of one of the best horror writers of all time, hopefully renewing Lovecraft's work for new readers curious to see where Moore drew his inspiration from.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
This is not a soft or gentle tale, it is one that will stay with you and may perhaps haunt your thoughts for some time after you are finished reading.
But really its Alan Moore, what else would you expect.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
I'm a big fan of Lovecraft Cthulhu fiction, and Alan Moore. I'm not a big fan of disturbing surreal rape fiction. Great to start then totally goes off track. I felt ashamed to be reading once it got past the good beginning.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
This volume includes the short story "The Courtyard" and its sequel. The Courtyard is brilliant and disturbing. A visit to the Lovecraftian Mythos without falling in the usual cliches. This story is worth 5 or more stars, by itself alone. It has lingered on my mind for weeks, and I felt compelled to re read it over again. It is totally unforgettable

The sequel is a good story. Nothing remarkable. although it attempts to push the limits of what is acceptable with some graphically explicit adult material, it lacks the surprise factor of the Courtyard and is very predictable, with an ending expected as a 80s horror movie. It is not bad, but just not good enough. If I was to rate it alone I would give it 3 stars.

I felt I should weight both reviews and give the whole story 4 stars, yet that would not be fair for The Courtyard, which alone is worth the price of the book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)