Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 5 October 2012
I wavered for a long time about getting this book...far too long. Have enjoyed every minute of using it to stimulate new ideas and remember how to do do some of the techniques I had forgotten about. Only one problem with this book...my printing and homemade stamping collection has grown beyond four shoeboxes. We're heading for 8-10 boxes of stuff....and worth it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2012
Traci Bunkers has a couple of great videos on Youtube about printing and stamping - one about stamping with fruit and veg and the other about making mouldable foam stamps. After having seen these videos and using my own ingenuity I figured that I wouldn't find much more in this book but I was wrong - it's full of awesome ideas that I never would have come up with on my own.

There are plenty of ideas for using different household products for creating stamps, stencils and rollers - Traci uses a combination in many of the prints shown in this book to great effect.

One of my favourite prints is made from a combination of bottle caps and a roller covered in wire. Another effective print was made using just a pencil eraser and eraser cap.

This is an excellent purchase for print makers, textile designers, art journal artists, upcyclers etc. If you've never done any printing and stamping before then this would be a really economical way to begin - using what most people already have to hand.

Just one warning - you may find it becomes difficult to throw any packaging away without considering whether it would make a good print first.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 9 May 2010
Learn how to use everyday objects and turn them into useful stamps for artwork. Discover 52 stamp tools and print blocks - one for each week of the year - more than enough to keep your creativity over-brimming. This is an excellent way to use junk and things that lie around the house. The examples of finished work are inspiring. Very clear instructions with a great, easy-to-follow, illustrated layout. Includes simple techniques to use with children and for any artist who loves multiple layers and texture, this is ideal. A practical book that has enough ideas for any printmaker, no matter what their experience. From earplugs to rubber bands, this book will allow you to see stamping in a different light. This review first appeared on karen Platt's book reviews website.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
This book is great for inspiration, especially if you have children, and are stuck for something to do in the holidays. It opens your eyes to possibilities in using everyday objects, materials lying about the house.....and would save you a fortune in buying pre-made stamps that you would probably never use again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Fantastic & practicle book.
Full of inspiration.
A great read just on it's own, but you'll want to get going in practice.
Reminds the reader/user not to be too precious about what is produced!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2016
Disappointing based on the previous reviews. As a printmaker I was was looking for low-fi printing techniques to use with primary age children and couldn't really find anything useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
This book is very inspiring. Great ideas on how to create different designs, textures and patterns using things like buttons and paper clips! Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
Everything super. Just what I wanted, arrived perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)